Debunking some makeup myths

Well I found the following post from:

http://www.cherchezbeaute.com/2012/08/10-most-common-make-up-mistakes.html#more

This was a guest post from Videojug www.videojug.com, which is a site that has a lot of ‘how-to’ posts.

This is dated 2 August 2012, but I only just saw it as I was browsing through http://www.cherchezbeaute.com, which is a pretty great read. I only state the date of the post because there’s a comment later about makeup trends. I will be frank; I don’t keep up with makeup trends, but would prefer to concentrate on looks that just look good, regardless of the season or current trend. So yep, I’ve just copy pasted the article below,and have typed my comments in.

The very best appearance for many women is the “au natural” look with no makeup applied at all. While others feel much more comfortable when wearing makeup, getting a natural appearance that looks as if you are makeup free comes a close runner-up.

No. No no no no no.

Okay this is where I have the internal debate with myself where I go ‘People are beautiful the way they are’ and ‘But makeup!’ I’m sorry but the latter is going to have to win in this one.

To me, if the makeup you wear doesn’t make you look better than you already do (ie. enhance your best features, hide blemishes or dark circles) then that completely defeats the purpose of wearing makeup in the first place.

I think it’s a fairly logical concept. I mean, why on earth would anyone want to spend time and effort smearing and smoothing stuff on their face only to look worse than before they started? I get that most magazines and websites today have to be cautious today in order to ensure they don’t give off the wrong message to girls with poor self esteem, and make them feel bad about themselves. Or give the idea that you need to wear makeup to look beautiful. (Which is completely untrue.)

But while I understand how vampy makeup can look overdone and awful for lots of people that does not mean that natural makeup is the only way to go, and I would really love to have a talk with the people who keep promoting this. Yes, I get the Korean and the mainstream Japanese industries are all about natural makeup – enlarging the eyes, concealing blemishes etc  – but that does not mean that that’s the only way to wear makeup.

Maybe it’s because I started with stage makeup, but I love to experiment with colour. To me, if I’m going to pour a lot of gunk on my face (possibly triggering acne) I won’t bother with looking natural. I may as well just go bare faced if that were the case to keep my skin as clear as possible. Nope, if I wear makeup, I’m going to have fun with it, and I want people to see that makeup can be fun too.

What are the biggest makeup mistakes you need to avoid to keep your appearance sleek and sexy at all times?

1. Lippy Contrasts

30 years ago, a light lipstick and a dark lip liner may have been acceptable, however today it is one of the biggest makeup disasters going, in fact lip liners in general are out. Go for lipstick and a lip-gloss; no more.

I disagree with the bit ‘in fact lip liners in general are out’. Most brands are formulating new lip liners with different finishes (I love my glossy ones from Urban Decay) and which are more moisturizing. Clinique’s Chubby Sticks are apparently really hydrating, long-lasting and have beautiful colour (and I cannot wait to get hold of them). MAC has released a new batch of shades with some online exclusive collection not too long ago, and they all looked beautiful. They’re not as difficult to use as some people may think, and they’re fantastic for people with thinner lips, and who don’t like to go through the trouble of using a lip brush to put their lipstick on their lips.

I’ve been using lip liners lately, especially in the makeup looks I’ve been putting up which require a toned down matte lip paired with a dramatic eye. I like how matte lip liners can double as a base for lipstick, and be used alone as matte lipstick as needed.

2. Persisting Lip Liner

If you do persist in continuing with lip liner, keep it actually to your lips. Not above, or further than you need it to, you are not “The Joker.”

Alright, this one I do agree for daily makeup.

However, cosplayers with thinner lips would know that it is possible to draw and fill in your lips so you look like you have fuller lips, and know how to do it well. It’s extremely time consuming though.

3. Eyebrows

Many women with full eyebrows try to boost them further: don’t. If you have thin eyebrows then use a brush and quality brow powder to give you some extra volume, otherwise leave well alone.

No. I have full eyebrows, and I do use an eyebrow pencil once in a while. This is because my eyebrows are sparser at the ends, so I fill the ends in a little. The general guide is that you should use two colours when filling in your brows; one darker at the front of the brow (the area closer to the nose) which softens and lightens slightly at the end.

4. Eyeliner

We will keep this simple: keep it to the eyelid in the same manner we urged caution with lip liner.

Mmm. Dramatic eye makeup, if done well and with the confident personality to back it up can be done any way you want. I’m a huge fan of eyeliner art. Google ‘Katniss Everdeen coronation makeup’ (Yes from The Hunger Games, which had brilliant and well thought-out costume choices) to see what I mean. Also, wing-tips and cat-eyes require extensions that go beyond the eye.

5. Clumpy Mascara

There are several reasons why this occurs, and many ways you can deal with it before it is too late. The two main methods are to use a quality mascara which is less liable to clump, and buy yourself a lash brush so any clumps can be easily dealt with.

I’ve only ever bought drugstore mascara. Mascara is one of those tricky products that don’t last very long because they dry out (which makes them clump more easily) quickly, and can’t usually last beyond six months. Also, until lately, I never used them very much so I didn’t think it was worth it to pay more than $20 for a tube that I was only going to use a few times. 

A few more useful tricks to prevent clumping:

1) When you take the wand out of the tube, roll it on the back of your hand once to get rid of excess product. This will reduce the number of clumps dramatically.

2) Don’t pump the mascara wand in and out of the tube to try to get more product. This just introduces more air into the tube, which will cause the mascara to dry out faster. Roll it around in the tube instead.

3) After you’ve applied mascara to one eye, resist all urge to blink. Take a piece of tissue, hold it under the eye. Now close your eyes and blink a few times. You’ll find some of the excess mascara and clumps on the tissue.

53242_600

6. Over Blushing

Many women use a small brush to cover themselves liberally, giving themselves an unnatural, unattractive look. Use a larger brush in a more considered manner for a natural, “can hardly tell you are wearing any” appearance.

Meh. Nothing wrong with a small blush brush if you have a small cheeks. Always apply blush with a light hand (unless you’re intentionally going for the heavy blush look) and slowly build it up. Finish off with translucent finishing powder, which will soften the look some more.

7. Extreme Mascara

We are talking here about colouring, of course. If you use a coloured mascara, then go for understated, dark variants. Blue and red are great choices if worn correctly. If you go too far, however, the angst ridden teenager look is never a good one.

I am dying to get hold of some crazy coloured mascara (especially turquoise and purple) for photoshoots but Singapore doesn’t seem to carry any.

But yeah, if you have black eyelashes, good luck trying to get the colour show up on your lashes anyway. I’ve tried red, I don’t see anything. =(

8. Too Much

Amazing how many of these tips are simple, isn’t it? Too much make up actually makes imperfections worse, so avoid generous lashings of foundation at all costs. Instead, use a concealer only where necessary, or mix a touch of moisturiser to foundation to create a more even brush across the skin.

This I do agree with.

9. Stopping at the Jaw

Seriously, how hard is it to blend foundation, if you use it, into your neckline to avoid the orange face appearance? Harder than it looks, given the number of women who fall foul of this. Ensure you are not one of them.

Agreed.

10. How Far With The Eyes?

To avoid making their eyes look smaller, many women only line half of their eyes. Instead of this method, use a thicker, softer eyeliner for more definition.

Okay no no no no.

One, never ever line only half of the eye. Instead of dividing your eye into halves, divide it into thirds. I cannot quite remember exactly the science behind it at the moment, but visually it is a lot more flattering than cutting the eye into half. This also applies to eye shadow.

People with smaller eyes may do the following:

For my lower lashline, I usually line only the outer two-thirds, leaving the inner third empty. I may thicken the line on the last third a little bit if I want to change the shape of my eye a little. But I will never line just half of the eye.

And that’s about all. Hope that it was a decent enough read with tips to help with anyone’s daily makeup routines.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Debunking some makeup myths

  1. meow says:

    Lol can I just say, I’ve never had any of the problems that she described. And can I ask, what kind of eye liner look is she wearing, because I see quite a few girls with it and honestly, it’s not flattering at all. Just looks like eyeliner for the sake of eyeliner. I mean I like the wing, it extends the eye, but isn’t it too thick on the rest of the eye?

    • natziwang says:

      She didn’t write the post, it’s by a guest post from some other site.

      What do you mean what kind of eyeliner look? Lol. It’s… eyeliner. I guess.

      She’s got the kind of Asian eyes with thicker folds, so whenever you open the eye after applying eyeliner everything disappears into the lid. So most people put thicker eyeliner to compensate.

    • Rachel says:

      Hi there! Unfortunately I’m wearing the only eyeliner look that’s possible on my eyes after much experimentation. Natzi’s right, I have thick single eyelids that fold inwards so a lot of eyeliner has to be applied for it to look visible when I open my eyes fully. If I only extend the tip it would look kinda weird. Wish I could waste less eyeliner though, haha.

  2. Rachel says:

    Love the new blog! Very useful tip about the mascara, by the way. You’re the make up expert here 🙂 Btw I think you have to take the how-to with a grain of salt. I think it’s catered more towards non-Asian faces, especially lining half the eyes thing. I’ve seen my cousin line only half the eye and it actually looked okay when blended with a silver-black horizontal gradient.

    • natziwang says:

      Thank you for reading! ❤

      I got the tip from an Australian makeup artist's book, who usually works with Caucasian faces. I think if you were to take a rule to the eye and see how the eye should be dived you can see the difference.

Leave a Reply

