Smoky grey eyes

IMG_1566

So it was storming in the late morning. I really liked the light that was filtering into my room. In the last few days (it’s been cloudy in the mornings when I apply my makeup), the light’s had this bluish quality but today it was more like grey than anything. I decided to go with smoky grey eyes for today.

Edit: Later I found out it was that the greyish quality to the light is because of haze. There’s an awful burning smell too. So much for pretty romantic looking light. 

This is something I would avoid (like my smoky brown eyes) for the day, but it isn’t undoable of course. You just have to be careful not to overdo it. It’s one thing to look interesting, it’s another to go over the top. What I usually do is apply a thinner line of eyeliner, and no mascara (but I’m lucky with my eyelashes, they’re fairly thick and long. I’d suggest others who want to do something with their eyelashes go for mascara rather than falsies.)

1) Prep the face by applying eye primer, moisturizer and lip balm on the face, waited five minutes for the creams to sink in. (Always do this. Lots of people apply whatever product straight on top of the primer, which will of course, just slide off. Just try applying lipstick on top of a lip freshly applied with lip balm and you’d know what I mean.)

2) I applied Urban Decay South (from the Urban Decay Glinda palette, a shimmery taupe with more grey than brown undertones).

 IMG_1354Urban Decay South – taupe with a frosted finish.

3) I applied a shimmery black eye shadow (this from my Coastal Scents palette) on the outer V of the eye.

4) Liquid eyeliner on the upper lash, and the outer third of the lower lash line.

5) Applied a loose face powder (mine’s from MAC) with a sponge, patted all over the skin.

Note: Patting on powder with a sponge and not brushing it over with a brush usually makes the powder last longer. It also mattifies the skin better.

5) Brushed a bit of MAC Warm Soul on the apples of the cheeks. Nothing too dramatic, I just wanted to add a little warmth to the skin and prevent it from looking flat.

IMG_1385

MAC Mineralize Blush in Warm Soul. It’s bronze with a peachy undertones.

 Note 2: It’s always important to add a bit of blush because after applying foundation. This is something I notice that a lot of girls in school don’t do. It’s important, because after (especially if you’ve put on a heavy layer) of foundation, the skin tends to look completely flat.  A brown based blush like MAC Warm Soul is perfect for adding just a little bit of life to the face if you don’t want to wear pink.

6) Applied Bobbi Brown High Shimmer Lipgloss in Canary on the lips.

Bobbi Brown High Shimmer Lipgloss Canary is a lovely lipgloss with a clear base (some people say pale yellow gold, but it looks clear to me) and lots of beautiful gold shimmer. It’s a very subtle effect on the lips, but my lips do look browner and warmer with this on. And of course, it’s a glittery glittery gold.

IMG_1539 IMG_1561 IMG_1562 IMG_1563

Love the lighting here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

