Product Rave: Korres Lip Butter in Mango and Wild Rose


Korres Mango

Korres Lip Butter in Mango.

Korres Wild Rose

Korres Lip Butter in Wild Rose

I’ve been eyeing these for the longest time, since I’ve seen the Korres Lip Butter Glaze reviews on Temptalia. The Lip Butter Glaze is, unfortunately, unavailable in Singapore, so I’ve had to make do with the Lip Butter. As far as I can see from reviews and swatches online (I can’t compare the two directly because I don’t own the Glaze, for obvious reasons), the  difference between the two products are in the packaging and pigmentation. The Glaze comes in a squeeze tube, while the normal Lip Butter in a pot. Also, the Glaze is more like a lip gloss, and has a lot more pigmentation, and gives a glossier finish than the normal Lip Butter, while the normal Lip Butter is more like a tinted lip balm.

Let me just say this first; I am not the type to splurge on lip balms. I balk at the idea of spending more than $6 on one, and have stuck to using drugstore ones like my tried and tested Lip Ice, or petroleum jelly. These Lip Butters cost S$21 each.

Zalora SG was having 20% off a couple of weeks ago on their items in order to promote their new iPhone app. So I figured if I was ever going to buy these products, getting them at a discount would be the perfect time. I ended up paying S$33.60, with free shipping.

I’ve used both for the last five days or so, mixing either depending on which scent I felt more like using. I haven’t been going out, so the colour didn’t really matter to me. My lips have been fairly dry for the last few months, even though I’ve been using the same lip balm I’ve bene using for years – Lip Ice, lemon scented. My lips will feel fine so long as I constantly apply it, but still feel dry and cracked afterwards – it’s like it’s only moisturizing my lips superficially. This continues to happen even though I exfoliate my lips. This did not happen before. And within three days of use, my lips actually feel soft and hydrated in a way they haven’t felt in months.

IMG_1831

You can see the original packaging here, and the size of the pot. (It’s a fairly decent amount. The thing weighs 6g but I don’t know exactly how much is in it.)

IMG_1832

Korres Lip Butter in Mango.

This is a beautiful orange coral in the pot. Because my lips are pretty pigmented I barely see any difference to my lips, but they do feel extremely moisturized after using it. It smells like mango.

IMG_1828

IMG_1829

IMG_1827

Korres Lip Butter in Wild Rose.

This is a deep dark crimson in the pot, and looks crimson on my finger. The colour is more obvious on my lips than the Mango, and my lips are stained a deeper berry colour. It is rose-scented.

IMG_1959

Lips with nothing on them.

IMG_1966

Lips with Korres Lip Butter Mango on them.

IMG_1969

Lips with Korres Lip Butter Wild Rose on them.

As you can see the colour is extremely extremely subtle, and don’t really make a difference to the lips. With more pigmented lips, they probably won’t show up at all.

There were also a couple of freebies that came along with the lip butters.

IMG_1830

Also, each lip butter came with a free sample of another Korres product. One is a day cream with SPF properties, and the other is a cream with anti-aging properties. With the free shipping from Zalora SG I’d say it was a pretty good deal.

tl;dr
Cost: S$21 from Zalora SG and the official Korres store
Does it work: Absolutely. 
Moisturizes the lips, tints it slightly, and smells heavenly.  
Would I recommend it: Hell yes. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Product Rave: Korres Lip Butter in Mango and Wild Rose

  1. Rachel says:

    Agree about Korres lip butter, it’s really great. Also, if your lips are dried despite putting on lip balm, it’s probably because applying lip balm too often dries them out, especially lip balm with scents. I wrote something about lipbalm a while back, hope it helps: http://www.cherchezbeaute.com/2012/06/skincare-burts-bees-honey-lip-balm.html

    • natziwang says:

      Thanks for referring me to the post! I’ve never researched about lip balm myths, I always thought it was a harmless addiction. I’m still going to continue with putting some about ten minutes before applying lipstick though, especially if it’s a matte lipstick. It’s like a primer, it’ll make the lipstick go on smoother.

      • Rachel says:

        No problem! Yeah, I do that too. It’s fine as long as you don’t reapply lip balm too often/use lip balm that irritates your lips by drying them out 🙂

  2. Pingback: A Guide to Lip Products | natzisstash

  3. Erika says:

    I guess I’m giving this a try, thanks to you! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Best products from 2013 | natzisstash

  5. Pingback: My Favourites from 2013 | natzisstash

Leave a Reply

