Japanese girly girl (bright pink lips)

IMG_2459

Excuse the bad photo. My mom was rushing me out of the house.

With the new haircut, I just had to. Also, I’ve been mistaken as Japanese or Korean for most of my life so I figure it wouldn’t be too hard to use makeup to increase the resemblance.

Additionally, in the Elle magazine (March 2013 if anyone’s interested) I read at the hairdresser, there was this page on brightly coloured lips on the runway. The only really bright lip colours I own (for now!) are my limited edition MAC Viva Glam Cyndi lipstick and lipglass, and I haven’t used either in a while, so I figured I may as well.

The trick in achieving the natural looking dewy radiance Korean and Japanese styled makeup is to make everything as… well, natural as possible. The makeup focuses on defining features (East Asian faces tend to be flat) and enlarging the eyes. Foundation coverage must be kept as light as possible, so BB creams are preferred. Liquid liners are preferred over pencil and kohl to get that crisp clean line.

How I got the look:
1) Lined the upper lashline with Make Up Forever Gypsy Aqua Eyeliner (matte red brown) and then blended it with a fluffy brush to get a wash of brown along the lid. You can use a matte eyeshadow to get the same effect, this is for deepening the eye socket
2) Tightlined the upper lashline with MAC Smolder
3) Applied Maybelline BB Watergel on my face. Because the coverage of the watergel is so light, I don’t have to apply blush as my natural cheek colour already comes through. If you have paler cheeks, I recommend using a rosy cream blush to get the natural schoolgirl kind of flush
4) Applied MAC Viva Glam Cyndi lipstick (coral pink) to the lips
5) Applied MAC Viva Glam Cyndi lipglass (coral pink lipgloss) on top, to get more intense colour

The Viva Glam Cyndi products are limited edition ones that were released in 2010. I have been looking for dupes since, as I love the colours so much. The lipstick is a lovely pink on its own, and my mom (who dislikes bright colours) owned two or three of it. MAC Mineralize Lipstick in Lady at Play is the best dupe I’ve found for the lipstick, which I intend to purchase once I run out of my Cyndi (it’s permanent too!). Revlon Colorburst Lipgloss in Papaya is an affordable dupe for the lipgloss.

The usual Instagram picture (I used Hefe as the filter, which saturated the colours some more):

IMG_2460

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Japanese girly girl (bright pink lips)

  1. Amria says:

    you look like a japanese doll 😀

  2. Pingback: Japanese girly girl 2 (pink eyeshadow) | natzisstash

  3. Pingback: Pink Saturday! | amriaa

  4. You look fabulous! Loving your blog, great look in the Pink Saturday post!
    Xo
    Following!

    • natziwang says:

      Followed you back! ❤ Love YOUR look, you have a wonderful complexion and colouring, the kind I always think of as an "English Rose" in my head. =) And thank you for the kind words.

Leave a Reply

