Product Rant: Painted Earth Super Silky Butterfly Palette in Botany

IMG_2937

I cannot even begin to express how disappointed I am with this.

This is going to be my first ‘rant’ post – I don’t generally buy bad products because I always check a load of reviews (thank you Temptalia and Makeupalley) before buying things. But the reviews about Painted Earth Skin Care have been overwhelmingly amazing so far, so even though I didn’t find a review on this specific palette it would be fine. 

Painted Earth Super Silky Butterfly Palette in Botany is USD38, which isn’t cheap (about S$48). So you’d expect this to be of good quality, with great pigmentation and longevity.

I fell in love with the deep green shade when I saw it on the site, and bought the palette specifically for that green colour. I’ve been looking all over for an eyeshadow that colour for ages, for a photo shoot I’m planning with a friend.

IMG_2934

The first shade is a highlight colour, a beautiful frosty white with a luminous sheen.
The second is a frosty khaki with gold shimmer. This colour is very sheer, it almost blends entirely into my skin leaving only a little gold sparkle.
The third shade is an olive green in the pan, but it swatches more like a dirty brown grey with gold sparkle.
The fourth shade looks like a rich deep emerald green (Edit: Should have called it forest green) in the palette, but comes off more like a sheer black when swatched (and applied on the lid).

Edit: Forgot to mention here that I tried swatching it with a wet brush too, no luck on better pigmentation/colour. =( 

IMG_2948

As you can see, this looks more like a grey smoky eye than a green one. =(

IMG_2944

IMG_2953

tl;dr
Cost: USD38
Does it work: 
The two lighter colours are beautiful, but sheer. The two darker colours are muddy, not resembling anything like they are in the pan. After seven hours, there’s some fading, even though I’ve used a primer under it. 
Would I recommend it: 
No.

Note: I would be extremely happy if someone could recommend a dupe for that green eyeshadow!

Edit: Joanne, the CEO of Painted Earth Skincare, has refunded me for the palette (without my returning it) which is amazing. Please check out the brand, they have excellent service, and (apart from this palette) amazing products. 

Edit 2: I used the palette again with this lookI realised that when applied over a green base like the Maybelline 24 Hour Tatto in Edgy Emerald, the green colours tend to show up better. Obviously, you shouldn’t have to work so much to get a true-to-pan colour but at least there’s one way to get it to work.

Edit 3: Painted Earth just sent me a bunch of green eyeshadows, free of charge. This is the best customer service I have ever gotten from a brand, ever. Please do check out Painted Earth Skincare.

If you enjoyed this post, please like my Facebook page for daily updates and posts! 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Product Rant: Painted Earth Super Silky Butterfly Palette in Botany

  1. Amria says:

    the dark green looks so beautiful, so sorry to hear it’s not working 😦

  2. Oh no! I’m so sad to hear this and I’m sorry you’re disappointed 😦 I’m sorry hon

    • natziwang says:

      Yep. But the other products still seem great, I think it’s just this one that’s a dud. =/ I dunno why, but most brands (Chanel, Dior, MAC) seem to produce bad quads.

  3. Pingback: Day 10 Makeup + OOTD at Yale | natzisstash

  4. The green would be a perfect color if it showed up how it looks 😦 If I find one I like I’ll let you know for sure!

    Michele 🙂
    http://trendybelleblog.wordpress.com

  5. Joanne says:

    Nat, I am so sorry you do not like the color, We will work on perfecting the Emerald Green color for you. I am on a quest now. Let me know If I can give you a refund on the quad, you look so unhappy in the last picture (albeit pretty). I want you to be happy, and Happy with Painted Earth.

    • natziwang says:

      Hi Joanne, thanks very much for going through my blog again! I’ll contact you via email? And don’t worry about the photo, I just don’t smile very often in photos. XD

  6. Joanne, you are amazing!!! Nat, make sure you email me with a look!! I can’t wait to find one for you!

  7. Pingback: Watching Wicked (and introducing new and old products) | natzisstash

  8. Pingback: A Surprise from Painted Earth | natzisstash

Leave a Reply

