Product Rave: MAC Soft and Gentle

MAC Soft and Gentle

MAC Soft and Gentle is a Mineralize Skin Finish. MAC describes MSFs as ‘A luxurious velvet-soft powder with high-frost metallic finish’. Although the ‘metallic’ finish may sound scary, it isn’t, really. It doesn’t look ridiculously frosty or anything on the skin, but it does give you a beautiful beautiful glow when applied on the cheeks. MAC describes Soft and Gentle as a ‘glided peach bronze’, but I’ll say it’s more champagne than anything else, especially when blended out.

There are people online who have complained about huge chunks of glitter falling out as you apply it, and I’m here to say there are no huge chunks of glitterThis, when blended out on the cheeks is a beautiful warm glow. Note that I said ‘blended’, I usually use my MAC 219SE (this is a standard blush brush) to apply it, I don’t even have to buff it into the skin to get rid of any loose particles. I just pat my brush on the dome to compress the particles, and then apply it. Or if you’re that worried, apply it with a damp brush. This is a baked product, and like baked eyeshadows, can be applied either wet or dry.

It’s a versatile product. I’ve used it as a highlighter on the brow bone, an eyeshadow for people who are afraid to wear fancy shades, and of course, a highlighter. We used it a lot when I was in Drama, for a huge variety of skin tones (warm and cool) and shades (light, medium, dark) as a highlighter, and I can tell you it works on a lot of people. It is beautiful, on stage, in photographs, in real life. This is basically my go-to highlighter, always.

I don’t have a good enough camera to pick this up when I apply it on my skin, but if you don’t believe me about the universality of the product, just check out how it looks on a bunch of other people here.

17588_162425830607678_132204713_n

This photo was taken from a photo shoot I did with a friend (click here for more photos). I have applied MAC Soft & Gentle on my cheekbones and MAC Warm Soul below it. You can see the beautiful glow. 

From what I’ve read, Soft and Gentle is not a dupe for MAC Candlelight, another very popular MSF. This one seem to be, like Candlelight, a universal kind of highlighter with very little pigment. S&G is warmer, which is really important to me for stage (because you need to warm up the face) and photos. It’s not that warm either so it works if you’re looking for cooler toned makeup it still works.

It’s expensive, yes, but it’s a lot of product. Even if you used a small amount every day you probably won’t really make a dent in it for about six months. I haven’t even flattened the dome shape yet.

It also wears a good long time, which is important to me because I don’t like touching up cheek products. This can last up to seven or eight hours on me, as long as I’ve primed the face beforehand.

Do note that because of the finish, it will emphasise large pores, wrinkles and acne. (Highlighters are meant to draw attention to an area, of course!) So this may not be for you if you’re conscious about the cheek area, and you may want a more subtle highlighter. Alternatively, wear a prep the skin with a primer, then wear a liquid rather than powder foundation to cover up the imperfections, so you don’t have to worry about it.

tl;dr
Cost: SGD49 if I remember correctly. (USD 30)
Does it work: Soft and Gentle is a beautiful warm champagne colour that can be used as highlighter (for both the cheek and the brow bone) and eyeshadow.
Would I recommend it: Yes. It’s expensive but comes with a huge amount of product, and can be used in a huge variety of ways.

If you liked the post, please like my Facebook page for more updates and posts!

Click here for more information on how to use MAC Mineralize Skin Finishes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Product Rave: MAC Soft and Gentle

  1. Amria says:

    This stuff gives such a sexy finish it’s crazy 😀

  2. sofiaaa001 says:

    Wow! It looks great! I love MAC!

  3. Is this the same as the mineralize studio tech foundation? I’m trying to find studio tech on the website but it is mia…:(

  4. I use this product every day. It is soooo amazing!

  5. Pingback: Begin Again | natzisstash

  6. Pingback: Product rave/rant: Bobbi Brown Shimmer Brick Compact in Rose | natzisstash

  7. Pingback: I’m back! | natzisstash

  8. Pingback: Peaches and Cream | natzisstash

  9. sharanaway says:

    idk why I hadn’t read this post till now, gonna get this soon!!

Leave a Reply

