Product Rave: Sephora Lip Cream in Always Red

IMG_3516

Move over Ruby Woo, you have been replaced.

Sephora Lip Cream in Always Red is a matte blue-based red. I was first introduced to it by Marie on Etsycare. I loved loved loved the image of her wearing it, so I just had to buy it for myself.

This is not a red for the faint hearted. As a lip cream (I see this as a liquid lipstick really), it’s not one that can be toned down with Vaseline or powder. It is what you see in the bottle – an amazing intense blue-based ruby red with a matte finish. Like MAC’s Ruby Woo, but with a far more intense finish. I love how pale this makes me look, and how you’re immediately drawn to the lips when you wear this.

Sephora describes this as a lipstain that provides ‘beautiful, long-lasting color’. ‘This high-coverage lip product features avocado oil for a texture that transforms as you wear it: when applied, the initial cream texture becomes a silky, lightweight stain. Lips achieve stunning color and feel soft and comfortable.’

This is applied like a lip gloss, with a wand applicator brush inside a tube of liquid. It feels slightly wet as it goes on, but this very quickly dries down so it doesn’t really feel like there’s anything on the lips. The one thing I don’t like about the product is the very sweet artificial vanilla smell (nothing like the subtle scent of MAC lipsticks, this is far more intense) but it quickly dissipates after applying. I would recommend using a lip liner, or at the very least, a lip brush when applying this as the paddle handle is fairly large. A colour as vivid as this shows any kind of mistake, so you’d want a crisp sharp line.

This is not a high maintenance red. It wears and wears and wears, which makes it wonderful because reapplication in a crowded bathroom would be a bitch.

And here are images of myself wearing it at a recent photoshoot.

IMG_9877 resized

That colour
IMG_9936 resized

It is the perfect retro pin-up girl red, the perfect Red Carpet glamour red, the perfect dolly doll red, the perfect Goth red.

tl;dr
Cost: SGD 22 (USD 12)
Does it work: It applies a rich ruby red to the lips. The initial application takes a lot of time as you want to get a perfect crisp line, but afterwards, it doesn’t really need any touchup. Do note that it has a strong vanilla scent that eventually fades, but the scent may turn some people off.
Would I recommend it: Yes, yes, yes, what are you waiting for? Unless you’re still uncomfortable with intense colours, in which case I would recommend a lipstick like Ruby Woo instead, which can be muted down.

If you liked the post, please like my Facebook page for more updates and posts!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Product Rave: Sephora Lip Cream in Always Red

  1. estycare says:

    So glad you love it! It looks great on you and those photos are stunning!! ❤

    • natziwang says:

      Yep, thanks so much for that post on it! It was the perfect red for this shoot. ❤ I think I'd need a lip pencil under Ruby Woo to achieve this kind of intensity.

      • Laise says:

        I must say this is by far my favorite look on you. I have been sechraing for a color to wear in my hair that is bold, yet fitting for my job. This shade of purple is gorgeous and yet its dark enough that it may not be as noticible indoors. If its ok, do you mind telling me what color that is in your hair. I think its absolutely gorgeous! Two big thumbs up!

  2. bubliibeauty says:

    Loved the color …….Looks great on you

  3. plainjanemcgough says:

    I have that exact one! I love it! It also stays on really well. 🙂

  4. Amria says:

    I love this lip colour and I am ordering it tonight! 😀 I can’t get over how beautiful you look, and the whole photoshoot was amazing, I loved each and every one of the pics I saw 😀

  5. Pingback: Brown Eyes (great for night) | natzisstash

  6. Pingback: Begin Again | natzisstash

  7. Pingback: I’m back! | natzisstash

  8. Pingback: natzisstash

  9. Pingback: Product Rave: Sephora Infinite Rose Lip Cream | natzisstash

  10. Pingback: Product Rave: MAC Viva Glam I Lipstick and Lipglass | natzisstash

  11. Pingback: Best products from 2013 | natzisstash

  12. Pingback: My Favourites from 2013 | natzisstash

  13. enaabdullah says:

    Love love love this lippy! Its gorgeous😍

  14. enaabdullah says:

    Love love love this lippy! Must have😍

Leave a Reply

