Going Goth

IMG_3803
This one’s inspired by my favorite character in Neil Gaiman’s Sandman series. The character, Death, usually has a monochromatic look; pale skin, heavy eyeliner and dark lipstick, sometimes black or a darkened red or purple. I’m dressed entirely in black (black peplum top, black cargo pants, complete with ankle boots I have not worn in years and this is where I cry about not throwing away my worn out black trench coat), but I have turquoise and gold necklaces on to jazz up the look.

tumblr_m1763qVYmS1qcrt1n Death_of_the_endless_2634 death_288x288 Death_(DC_Comics)

The different ways Death has been portrayed over the years

The thing I don’t like about heavy eyeliner looks is how flat they usually end up looking, because people rarely put any shadow underneath. Here I used a fluffy brush and a tiny amount of Urban Decay West (deep red brown) to create a shadow on my lid, before I applied MAC Blacktrack (black gel liner).

The line for the eye didn’t turn out as sharp and precise as I wanted. I suspect I might have had an easier time with a liquid liner, but I’d left that in school.

IMG_3757 IMG_3764

You can kinda see the brown eyeshadow in the second photo.

Also, I would usually be using a much darker lip colour than what I’m wearing now (Bobbi Brown Pot Rogue in Raspberry). Ideally, I’ll be wearing NYX Snow White (deep wine red) with Bobbi Brown High Shimmer Lip Gloss in Black Ruby (blackened ruby with gold shimmer) layered over it.

Then I got to school and access to my makeup. After doing everything I needed to do, I reapplied my lipstick. This is the result.

 IMG_3783 IMG_3784 IMG_3787 IMG_3790

IMG_3800

Makeup used:

On the eye:
1) Using a fluffy brush, create a light wash of colour with Urban Decay West (deep red brown). This creates some shadow on the eye
2) I used MAC Blacktrack (black gel liner) to line the eye heavily.

Face:
1) Painted Earth Luminious Coconut Oil Pressed Mineral Foundation in Sandy Beige buffed into the skin with a Kabuki brush
2) Hourglass Ambient Powder in Mood Light to set the makeup

Lips:
1) I first applied Bobbi Brown Pot Rogue in Raspberry (raspberry tint). This works okay I guess, but is nowhere near as dark as I would like it. Alternatively
2) When I had access to the rest of my makeup, I first layered NYX Snow White (deep wine red) and then Bobbi Brown High Shimmer Lipgloss in Black Ruby (blackened ruby with gold shimmer)

Note: Remember my review on the amazing longevity of NYX Snow White? Well I applied the lipstick at 5pm, had a greasy dinner of barbecued pork, drank a hell lot of water, and the pigment is still there. It is amazing. 

If you liked this post, check out my Facebook page for more updates and links to other sites!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Going Goth

  1. Amria says:

    Cool recreation, Natalie! 😀 it suits you hehe

  2. We stand for a certain World says:

    gaaahhh! an outfit re-creation would be so fun! let me know if you need help 😉
    You look awesome

  3. Carina says:

    I love Sandmaaaan. ❤

  4. Olivia says:

    The thick eyeliner looks great on you! Love the little curlique underneath your eye 🙂

Leave a Reply

