Product Rave: OCC Lip Tar in Clockwork

IMG_4515IMG_4519

I’m going to be reviewing all my Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetic lip tar products slowly as a friend requested that I do.

This is OCC’s Clockwork. It is described as a ‘burnt orange cream‘. It does look like that when swatched, but when applied on my lips, and going by the images you see online, it’s a way brighter colour than that. On my lips, it looks more like an orange based coral, with definitely some peach tones there. It has a beautifully smooth cream finish (there’s still some kind of sheen to it, and doesn’t look as flat as a matte would), and looks and feels great. The lip tar is incredibly pigmented, so a tiny amount is usually enough for me to cover my lips. I only need to pat on one layer to get the intense colour you see below. I usually apply this with my fingers, though if you have thinner lips, you’d want a lip brush to get a more precise line.

IMG_4493

IMG_4507

IMG_4503Note: I’m not wearing any makeup in the photos except for OCC Clockwork on the lips.

I am so glad I bought this colour. It’s a lovely everyday coral that perks up your face instantly. The lip tar was USD18 when I bought it in the states. OCC is not available in Singapore, though there are sellers online who carry it. The prices differ from seller to seller. I’ve found one that sells each lip tar for SGD22, though their supply is of course, limited.

Clockwork lasts about six hours on my lips (and I drink water constantly!), and leaves a lingering stain after. Even as it fades throughout the day, the colour continues to look really pretty and flattering on the lips.

All lip tars can be mixed with other lip tars to get different colours. So far, I’ve mixed Clockwork with both Triptch (metallic jewellery gold) and Androgyne (bright orange).

IMG_3497

I applied two layers of Clockwork and added Triptych on top to get ombre lips.

IMG_3998

Like the above look, I used Clockwork and patted Triptych on top. I added more of the gold though, which is why the colour looks lighter.

IMG_4163

In this look I applied Clockwork and patted Androgyne on top. 

tl;dr
Cost: USD 18
Does it work: The colour is highly pigmented, and goes on smoothly. It lasts about six hours on my lips, leaving a lingering stain. Even as it fades, the colour still looks really lovely and flattering.
Would I recommend it: This is a beautiful everyday coral that will go well with most outfits. Because you only apply the tiniest amount each time, one lip tar will last you a good long time. Yes, get it.

If you liked the post, please like my Facebook page for more updates and posts on beauty-related things!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Product Rave: OCC Lip Tar in Clockwork

  1. The color looks sooo much better on the lip than in the tube. btw — you have amazing skin!

  2. kflowermaquillage says:

    I love it tars! They are Amazing.I’m a makeup artist & I’d love it if you could check out my beauty blog & follow if you like it 🙂 http://www.kateflowermaquillage.wordpress.com

  3. Carina says:

    Ahh, such a beautiful color. 🙂

  4. sofiaaa001 says:

    I love OCC! Such a beautiful color too!

  5. rubyangel711 says:

    Hi there, love your blog! I just nominated you for The Versatile Blogger Award! Check it out:)
    http://rubyangel711.wordpress.com/2013/08/25/the-versatile-blogger-award-nomination/

  6. Pingback: Product Rave: OCC Lip Tar in Authentic | natzisstash

  7. Pingback: Natural Makeup Part II: Different ways to do natural makeup | natzisstash

  8. Pingback: I’m back! | natzisstash

  9. Pingback: OCC Lip Tar Haul (and swatches, hooray) | natzisstash

Leave a Reply

