Product Rave: OCC Lip Tar in Androgyne

Next up in my series of OCC Lip Tar reviews is Androgyne.

Androgyne is described as ‘neon tangerine gel‘. It’s a tangerine with strong yellow undertones.

Androgyne  part of a new range that was recently released. Unlike the earlier ranges that tend to have cream, matte or metallic finishes, the Stained Gloss range ‘A gloss that combines the pigment potency of Lip Tar with a casual glossy finish. Ready to wear from its first slick application to the high-impact stain it leaves behind, this gloss gives you the ability to get a more translucent look from your Lip Tars while still providing fully pigmented color impact. It can also be worn over existing original-formula Lip Tars for added shine and color-transformative options.’

The gel definitely has a translucency to it that reminds me of stained glass. It has a beautiful juicy finish.

IMG_4589 IMG_4590 IMG_4592 IMG_4593

IMG_4598

This is with two layers of the lip tar on my lips. As you see, it’s not a true orange on me (it is on most of the photos I’ve Googled though) because I have fairly red lips to begin with. =(

IMG_4607

Here’s how it looks with a thinner layer of Androgyne. My lip colour is most definitely brighter and more even, but the change is very subtle. Here it looks a lot more like a peachy than orange.

I much prefer to use Androgyne as a base colour (to make my lips have an orange tint) before I apply a stronger orange over it, so that the final colour result IS orange, rather than coral as most oranges look on me. Or I like to mix it with my other lip tars.

IMG_4121

Here, I’ve patted OCC Triptych (metallic gold) on top of Androgyne.

IMG_4146

Here, I’ve mixed Clockwork (orange cream) with Androgyne to create the beautiful coral you see on my lips.

On its own, Androgyne wears about four or five hours on my lips, which is significantly less than other lip tars. I’m guessing that because of the glossy finish, it has a lot more slip and is. When mixed with other colours though, its longevity definitely improves.

tl;dr
Cost: USD 18
Does it work: It’s a bright glossy orange. On my pigmented lips, it comes off more as an orange coral, but on other lips that aren’t as pigmented, it’d be closer to the swatch’s colour. It lasts only 4-5 hours on my lips (other lip tars last 6 or more) but when mixed with other colours its longevity increases significantly.
Would I recommend it: It’s a great mixing colour and base for the lips. However, it definitely isn’t as pigmented as the other lip tars I’ve tried out, so it really depends on what you’re looking for when you buy this.

If you liked the post, please like my Facebook page for more updates and posts on beauty-related things!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Product Rave: OCC Lip Tar in Androgyne

  1. Carina says:

    I love this color, and I love it mixed with Clockwork!!

  2. Pingback: Blue lizard | natzisstash

Leave a Reply

