Product Rave: OCC Lip Tar in Authentic

Next review for my OCC lip tar! I’ve picked Authentic to review this time.

Authentic is described as ‘bronzed copper frost‘. I think of it as a burnished bronze with an orange shimmer. It’s got a slight metallic sheen to it.

I’d read the review for the product off Temptalia before I went to the US, and I knew I would be buying it. It’s one of those unique colours that isn’t easily duped, but is still very wearable.

IMG_4512

This colour is so lovely.

 The lip tar was USD18 when I bought it in the states. OCC is not available in Singapore, though there are sellers online who carry it. The prices differ from seller to seller. I’ve found one that sells each lip tar for SGD22 which is a really reasonable markup. The carry both Authentic, and Clockwork, which I previously reviewed.

IMG_4523 IMG_4524 IMG_4525

In the above photos, the only makeup I’m wearing is Authentic on my lips – just one layer by the way. (Ignore the accidental blotch of the lip tar on my face!) You can see how rich and pigmented the colour is. I like to apply it with a lip brush for a more precise finish.

OCC lip tars can be worn on their own or layered over other lip products, or mixed with other lip tars in order to get varying colours and finishes.

Authentic lasts about six hours on my lips, and continues to leave a slight stain after.

Here are some of the ways I’ve worn Authentic:

IMG_4413IMG_4443

I paired Authentic here with orange eyeshadow. It flatters the look without looking too monochromatic.

IMG_3409

Here I’ve paired Authentic with a natural eye. You can’t see it in this photo, but I’ve also lined my lower lashes a metallic gold. The lighting in the photo doesn’t really capture the lip colour though.

IMG_3912

I’ve layered Authentic over a red stain. It softens the bronze colour, while still giving the lips a unique sheen and colour. You can still see hints of the orange shimmer on the lips here.

tl;dr
Cost: USD 18, SGD22
Does it work: The colour is highly pigmented, and goes on smoothly. It lasts about six hours on my lips, leaving a lingering stain. Even as it fades, the colour still looks really lovely and flattering. OCC lip tars can be mixed with other lip tars or worn over another layer of colour in order to get new colours.
Would I recommend it: This is a lovely unique bronze shade. It’s wearable, but will always get you that second glance because of the subtle metallic sheen it has. Because you only apply the tiniest amount each time, one lip tar will last you a good long time. Yes, get it.

If you liked the post, please like my Facebook page for more updates and posts on beauty-related things!

Share this:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Product Rave: OCC Lip Tar in Authentic

  1. Pingback: Makeover: Gold and bronze | natzisstash

  2. Pingback: I’m back! | natzisstash

  3. Pingback: Putting on my debate face | natzisstash

  4. Pingback: Oriental Princess | natzisstash

  5. Pingback: Best products from 2013 | natzisstash

  6. Pingback: My Favourites from 2013 | natzisstash

Leave a Reply

