Product Rave: OCC Lip Tar in Triptych

Next up in my stash of lip tars is Triptych.

IMG_4608 IMG_4609Triptych is a true jewellery gold with a metallic finish. I can’t seem to find it on OCC’s website anymore. It’s probably not discontinued, but is out of stock for now. (I really hope it’s not been discontinued it’s a shade I’d buy again).

I apply this either with a lip brush, or I pat it on my lip with finger. It goes on smoothly and easily.

Triptych lasts about six hours on my lips when worn alone. It lasts about the same length of time when mixed with other colours, but that also depends what I mixed it with. It lasted about five hours when I mixed it with Androgyne the other time (both are light colours and I don’t expect it to last as long).

IMG_4610 IMG_4612 IMG_4618

This is a thin layer of Triptych on my lips. You can still see quite a bit of natural lip colour coming through. I’m not wearing any other kind of makeup, so excuse the eye bags.

IMG_4619 IMG_4622

IMG_4626

Here I’m wearing two layers of Triptych. It really does look like molten gold.

Of course, wearing a molten gold on your lips, no matter how pretty, isn’t very practical most of the time. Triptych can be mixed with other lip tars, or worn on top of other lipsticks to produce something special. I’ve yet to wear it on top of a red lip (which would look amazing for Christmas or Valentine’s Day), but here are some ways I’ve worn Triptych.

IMG_4346

I’ve layered it over MAC CB96 (orange with gold shimmer) here for a stronger gold shimmer

IMG_3497

I’ve patted Triptych over Clockwork to get an ombre effect.

IMG_3998

Like the above, I’ve used Triptch and Clockwork again. Here I’ve used a lot more Triptych so the overall lip colour is lighter and has fewer red undertones.

IMG_4121

I’ve patted Triptych over Androgyne (tangerine gel) here.

DPP_6057

This is an extremely thin layer of Triptych on my lips, so you can see a lot of my natural lip colour coming through. 

tl;dr
Cost: USD 18, SGD22
Does it work: The colour is highly pigmented, and really looks like molten gold on the lips. It lasts about six hours on my lips, leaving a lingering stain. Even as it fades, the colour still looks really lovely and flattering. OCC lip tars can be mixed with other lip tars or worn over another layer of colour in order to get new colours.
Would I recommend it: Yes. This colour is unique, and can be used in so many ways to give extra dimensions to the lipsticks you already have.

If you liked the post, please like my Facebook page for more updates and posts on beauty-related things!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Product Rave: OCC Lip Tar in Triptych

  1. nhieubeauty says:

    This is such a really fun colour to make the lip-look more fun!

  2. Amria says:

    Yoou look like an egyptian golden lip queen 😀

  3. Pingback: Blue lizard | natzisstash

  4. Pingback: Product Rave: MAC CB96 | natzisstash

Leave a Reply

