Product Rave: Bobbi Brown Rich Lip Color in Uber Suede

IMG_4875

IMG_4876

Uber Seude is the brown swatch on the top.

Uber Suede is described as a ‘golden brown‘. ‘Lightweight, yet intense, Bobbi’s latest formula combines pigments with a clear base to deliver pure, crisp color with just one swipe. Plus, it’s creamy and moisturizing, so lips feel as good as they look.’ This costs USD 25, and is SGD38 if I remember correctly. It’s definitely less than SGD40 though, but rather pricier than a MAC lipstick. It does contain more product than a MAC lipstick.

It’s a dark brown with some yellow undertones to it (definitely not golden!) but I think it has more plum undertones than anything else. I like how it’s not just a flat brown, and is a fairly complex colour. In one pass it darkens my lip colour, and takes away the redness of my lips – there’s most definitely a brown tinge to it, with some mauve undertones. In two passes I get a chestnut colored lip.

This is lightly moisturizing on my lips. It definitely won’t replace a good lip balm, but it glides on smoothly on the lips, and stays there. Also, though it’s really creamy, it doesn’t transfer more than the average lipstick would. It definitely doesn’t smear all over my lips as I eat.

Uber Suede lasts about six hours on my lips before I have to reapply it.

Brown lipsticks were fashionable in the 90s, and but have become somewhat dated, so it’s not a colour most people would immediately pick up. I got it to use for a play at the beginning of the year, but never really got round to applying it on myself. It’s rather dark on me, so I’d have to go easy on the eye makeup when I wear this. It’s most definitely not unwearable though! I’d use this as a statement colour, if I get tired of my reds and purples.

IMG_4734 IMG_4735 IMG_4763 IMG_4764

The above photos are of me wearing only one layer of Uber Suede. I pared it with dark brown eyeliner – for more info on the look, click here.

IMG_4878 IMG_4887 IMG_4893

Here, I’m wearing two layers of Uber Suede, without any other makeup.

tl;dr
Cost: USD 25, SGD 38 (if I remember the SGD price correctly)
Does it work: In one pass, it gives my lips a brown tinge with mauve undertones. In two passes, I get a chestnut coloured lip. The formula is wonderful; lightly moisturizing and creamy, and lasts about six hours on my lips.
Would I recommend it: The colour definitely isn’t for everyone. If you’re looking for a brown lipstick, check it out. The formula is really great though, so I’d also recommend you check out the rest of the colours in the Rich Lip Color range.

If you liked the post, please like my Facebook page for more updates and posts on beauty-related things!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Product Rave: Bobbi Brown Rich Lip Color in Uber Suede

  1. Pingback: Natural Makeup Part II: Different ways to do natural makeup | natzisstash

  2. Pingback: Product Rave: OCC Lip Tar in Starling | natzisstash

Leave a Reply

