Product Rave: MAC CB96

I cannot believe I haven’t blogged about CB96 before.

I’ve been neglecting this beauty for a while, playing with my lip tars and Maybelline Vivids whenever I want a coral. This was my first orange based lipstick though, and has a special place in my stash.

CB 96 is described as a ‘bright pinky-orange with pearl’ and has a frost finish. It costs SGD 30 at MAC  counters.

IMG_5479

IMG_5481

IMG_5496

This is one of the shades that look nothing like it is on the lipstick bullet when transferred to the lips. This usually annoys me greatly, but the end result is very pretty. The lipstick itself looks like it will be a bright orange with a strong gold shimmer. On the lips, it changes into a rosy coral with orange undertones, with a very subtle gold pearl.

I will say the colour will differ on your original lip colour. On my pigmented lips, the rosier tones come out pretty strong. On a friend of mine, who has less pigmented lips, it looks more orange and the gold shimmer looks stronger too.

The lipstick’s texture is smooth, and glides easily on the lips. Because of the frosty finish, it might emphasize your lip’s imperfections, so make sure to apply lip balm about five minutes before you apply it. I find the lipstick very slightly drying. It lasts about four or five hours on me.

This is a great colour for a day out in the sun. It’s not overwhelming, but is a pretty and unique lip colour that’ll make you stand out. It is also a versatile shade that will look good on a variety of skin colours and tones. If you’re thinking of buying an orange-based lipstick or are looking for a pretty coral, but are afraid of something too loud, I highly recommend CB 96.

At SGD30, some people might prefer to get a drugstore lipstick instead (at around SGD 20; makeup is expensive in Singapore). I don’t think Maybelline or Revlon lipsticks have this kind of complexity and depth of colour though, and this lipstick might be worth the splurge. Also, MAC has a recycling policy: give them six empty containers of any MAC product (lipstick bullets, foundation bottles, etc.) and you get a free lipstick. I returned a bunch of items earlier this year, and chose CB96 as my free gift.

Here are more photos of myself wearing it. I’m not wearing any makeup apart from the lipstick, so excuse my eyebags.

IMG_5504

IMG_5499

IMG_4346

In this look, I applied OCC Lip Tar in Triptych on top of CB96 to get a stronger green shimmer.

tl;dr
Cost: SGD30
Does it work: CB96 is a rosy orange-based coral with a subtle gold pearl. It glides easily on the lips, and lasts between four to five hours on me. It is slightly drying, and because of the frost finish, will emphasize any dryness of the lips so remember to wear lip balm five minutes before applying.
Would I recommend it: It’s not overwhelming, but is a pretty and unique lip colour that’ll make you stand out. I do not think there are many (if at all!) drugstore dupes that have this depth and complexity of colour. It is also a versatile shade that will look good on a variety of skin colours and tones. If you’re thinking of buying an orange-based lipstick or are looking for a pretty coral, but are afraid of something too loud, I highly recommend CB 96.

If you liked the post, please like my Facebook page for more updates and posts on beauty-related things!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Product Rave: MAC CB96

  1. rosyposy1 says:

    Hey! I think your blog is fab so I wanted to let you know I nominated you for the Leibster Award 🙂 http://thefemaledatabase.wordpress.com/2013/10/12/liebster-award-2-0/

  2. Amria says:

    It’s really pretty! You have sooo much stuff! 😀

  3. I like the gold shimmer it gives the added oomph to the coral 🙂

  4. Hello! I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award! Check it out here -> http://beautybloggergoddess.wordpress.com/2013/10/13/the-versatile-blogger-award/. Xoxo!

  5. Pingback: Product Rave: OCC Lip Tar in Electric Grandma | natzisstash

Leave a Reply

