Peaches and Cream

IMG_5523

So I saw this post on Fall makeup trends the other day and shared it on my Facebook page. A friend of mine liked the last image a lot, and asked me to try out a look with orange eyeshadow. I said I’d give it a go.

hbz-fw13-makeup-trend-orangey-shadow-Prabal-Gurung-clp-RF13-0448-lgn

The image in question

The main features of the look are the strong eyebrows, and the pale monochromatic peach on pale skin. The eyebrows are especially important I think, in keeping the look fresh and not just looking like a corpse. I already have thick eyebrows, so that part is easy. I decided to use my MAC Ripe for Love blush as both an eyeshadow and a blush to get that monochromatism. I’ve applied the eyeshadow not as a pale wash, but with a couple of layers because the colour is beautiful and it just looks better that way. I’m not a fan of the dead lips look either, especially since I look like a corpse whenever I lack sleep (which is most of the time anyway). Also, my lips seem ruddier today than usual for some reason, and there is no way I’d be able to get it to that colour. So I slicked on some peach coloured lipstick instead.

IMG_5505

The colour palette. From left to right: MAC Ripe for Love (blush + eyeshadow), MAC In a Heartbeat (lipstick from the Divine Desire 2012 collection, MAC Soft and Gentle (the champagne shimmer, if you squint really hard)

IMG_5507

The products I used.

On the eyes:
1) I used NYX Jumbo Pencil in Cashmere (soft champagne gold) as a base
2) Using a fluffy brush, I applied Ripe for Love on my lid, blending it upward
3) I lined my upper lashline with liquid liner
4) I filled in my brows with the NYX brow pencil, and then combed it down with petroleum jelly

On the face:
1) I used my MAC  loose powder (which I haven’t touched in ages) and applied it on my face with a Kabuki brush
2) I applied MAC Ripe for Love on my cheeks liberally
3) I applied MAC Soft and Gentle on the apples of my cheeks
4) I set the makeup with Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Diffused Light

Lips
1) I applied MAC In a Heartbeat (peachy coral) on my lips

IMG_5509  IMG_5515

IMG_5513

It’s about to rain, and there’s just this natural hazy glow when I use the front camera (ie. the camera that isn’t as good) on my iPhone.

The photos below are using the back camera, and the images are much crisper.

IMG_5518 IMG_5519 IMG_5522

I love the monochromaticness of this. Also, the very very subtle sheen from Soft and Gentle.

IMG_5516

Took this one by accident. I love it.

What do you think? Which do you prefer, the paler original or my version? Would you try this out?

If you liked the post, please like my Facebook page for more updates and posts on beauty-related things!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Peaches and Cream

  1. rubyangel711 says:

    Very soft and pretty colors on you. Love the eyes!😊

  2. Olivia says:

    Love the color on you! I’m going to do this for school tomorrow, thanks for the inspiration 🙂 I think I’ll break out my color tattoo in Fierce and Tangy..

  3. Loving your hair! And LOL, I was wondering if I would actually see Nat in a super natural makeup look, but no, just had to make the colour pop. It looks so pretty though xoxo

    • natziwang says:

      I have done natural makeup before! Lots of it. =( Haha, and yeah, I was going to keep the colour pale at first, but when I realised how pretty it was, I just had to pack it on.

  4. Pingback: Product Rave: OCC Lip Tar in Electric Grandma | natzisstash

  5. Pingback: Angel | Natzi's Stash

Leave a Reply

