Product Rave: OCC Lip Tar in Lydia

IMG_5723

So today I tried out Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics Lydia lip tar.

Lydia is described as ‘darkroom plum‘. It’s a medium-dark plummy pink with neutral tones, but it slightly leans to cool. I suspect it’ll look more plum and less red on someone with less pigmented lips. It’s got a wonderfully creamy consistency (like all the lip tars I’ve tried so far) and glides easily on the lips.

Lydia lasted for about six hours on me before I felt the need to reapply. It left a lingering stain (my lips were definitely very slightly still plum) even then though.

OCC Lydia costs SGD 23.90 with this supplier. It’s a reasonable markup, as the lip tar is USD 18 (which, according to Google’s conversion rate at the moment, is SGD 22.30).

I bought this because I read that it was a dupe for MAC Plumful – only more pigmented, and, with this Singapore supplier anyway, cheaper. (A MAC lipstick is SGD 30).

IMG_5726

Such a lovely colour.

IMG_5631

Lydia is the first lip tar on the right.

IMG_5638

Lydia is the second lip tar on the right.

IMG_2985

I don’t think I’ve worn a colour like this before. The closest I can think of is Maybelline Brazen Berry, which is definitely a lot more purple, and less plum.

IMG_5735

Here, I’ve patted a little of OCC Lip Tar in Triptych on top of Lydia. (Am wearing MAC Ripe for Love on the cheeks, for anyone who’s wondering.)

IMG_5736

The end result is so pretty.

What do you think? Would you get it?

tl;dr
Cost: SGD 23.90, USD 18
Does it work: OCC Lydia is a medium-dark plummy pink. It’s heavily pigmented and glides on the lips easily. It wore six hours on me before I needed to reapply.
Would I recommend it: If you’re looking for a more mature grown up looking pink (think one suitable for work) I’d suggest Lydia.

If you liked the post, please like my Facebook page for more updates and posts on beauty-related things!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Product Rave: OCC Lip Tar in Lydia

  1. Erika says:

    OCC Lydia looks wonderful on you! I’ve been thinking of getting it for a while now, but I wasn’t too happy with OCC Strumpet. It’s a beautiful color and I believe it suits me, but I find it so difficult to apply and I’m led to believe the OCC Lip Tar is just difficult to use in general. 😦 How do you get it to work?

    • natziwang says:

      Strumpet’s a gorgeous colour! I don’t find them too difficult to work with, except the ones with waterier (is that a real word?) tendencies like Tarred. I squeeze a tiny amount onto my hand, then pat it on my lip with my middle finger. I need a brush to reach the corners of my mouth though.

      • Erika says:

        Oh alright, but for the most part you use your lip. I’ll give that a shot! I hope it works out because I really love OCC’s colors. 🙂

Leave a Reply

