Product Rave: Urban Decay Glinda palette

IMG_5877

So I’m going to talk about the limited edition Urban Decay Theodora palette, which was a collaboration with Disney‘s Oz The Great and Powerful film. The palette was released earlier this year, but there are still some Sephora shops in Singapore that sell it (or you can ask the sales person if they have any left in stock). I wasn’t going to review this because I thought that Urban Decay had stopped selling it, but apparently not. The Theodora palette used to cost USD 49, but Urban Decay is currently having an insane clearance sale now, and the palette is now going for USD 24. Which is absolutely ridiculous. If you live in the US and haven’t bought this I don’t know what to say to you. Just buy it. In fact, that’s why I’m writing this review; to extol the awesomeness of it.

I bought this at SGD 80 earlier this year in Singapore, the same price as the Urban Decay Naked palettes sold here. The Theodora palette comes with six full sized eyeshadows in a Build Your Own Palette palette, and the eyeshadows are easily depotted and shifted around. (Technically, there are eight eyeshadow colours because there are two duo shades here). It also comes with a travel-sized eyeliner, Urban Decay Rockstar, and a full sized lip pencil, Glina. It’s supposed to be a limited edition colour for this palette, but is actually a dupe for the Naked lip pencil.

The palette is beautiful a sturdy thing, while being not too heavy, and is a joy to bring around when I travel. I like depotting the various eyeshadows from both this and the Theodora palette so I have a good variety in one palette when I travel.

IMG_5882

IMG_5878

IMG_5872

From left to right, the shades are:

Illusion – Described as ‘Pale peach satin’, Illusion has stronger beige tones than peach. It’s not quite a satin either, much closer to a frost finish because of the shimmery finish.
Aura – ‘Iridescent white with blue shift/Iridescent white with red shift’. It’s a duo shade. The white half in the palette has a blue duochrome, while the beige looking half has a pink duochrome, not red as stated in the description. They are extremely frosty. I love using them as highlighter colours in the inner rim of the eye.
Magic – ‘Pinkish purple with a golden shimmer’. While it looks more pinkish purple in the photos, I find it looks more like a baby pink on the eye, and the gold shimmer doesn’t come through as much as I’d like it to. It’s still a beautiful colour.
South – ‘Warm pale gray shimmer with silver micro-glitter’. On Temptalia, this was labelled as a taupe, with brown and grey. Try as I might, I’ve never been able to see any brown tones when I apply this – it remains stubbornly grey on me, especially when I apply it on the eyes. However, other people have been able to see it on them, so maybe it’s a skintone thing. I’m not very familiar with Urban Decay’s micro-glitter formula. In any case, there isn’t any fallout from this (unlike Oz or Spell from the Theodora palette), nor do I have to press the eyeshadow on the lid to minimize glitter from falling out.
Oz – ‘Gold with gold glitter/Silver with silver glitter’. Wow, the glitters from both eyeshadows are amazing. I love using them in the inner corner of the eye to perk up a look. However, I have to be really careful when I use these eyeshadows. I usually apply them over a base like MAC Paintpots, and use a flat eyeshadow brush to press the product into the skin to minimize fallout.
Tornado – ‘Vibrant deep purple shimmer’. It’s a rich dark purple with a frosted finish. Love this colour for a smoky eye, or a crease colour.

All the eyeshadows are richly pigmented. Except for Oz (the glitter shades), they’re mostly dense and buttery and an absolute joy to apply on the lids.

Glinda Super Saturated High Gloss Lip Color – ‘Light sheer nude’. This is so much more than a ‘nude’, it has incredible depth in colour. It’s a rosy beige. I like how it warms up my lips once I apply it – it’s definitely not one of those nude that make you end up looking like a corpse. One of my favourite nudes. It comes with a good amount of product too.
Rockstar 24/7 Glide-on Eye Pencil (Travel-sized) – ‘Deep eggplant’. Eggplant’s an apt description for this; it’s a deep dark purple that I love to use as a subtle colour on the eye.

IMG_5859

From top to bottom: Tornado, Oz (silver), Oz (gold), South, Magic, Aura (pink shimmer), Aura (blue shimmer), Illusion

IMG_5861 IMG_5862 IMG_5863

IMG_5869

Rockstar and Glinda. I’m not sure why Rockstar turned out looking so blackish in the photo, it’s got deeper purple tones than that.

tl;dr
Cost: SGD 80, USD 40 (but it is now going for USD 24 so what are you waiting for)
Does it work: All the products are amazingly pigmented, and last long. There’s a nice range of shades here, so you can create a variety of looks. The packaging’s nice and sturdy too.
Would I recommend it: Yes, yes, yes. Especially at the ridiculous US prices they’re going for now. Even at SGD 80 I would say yes, these are amazing products, it’s great value for money (seeing how one UD eyeshadow is  SGD 30+)  and I use this palette all the time.

If you liked the post, please like my Facebook page for more updates and posts on beauty-related things.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Product Rave: Urban Decay Glinda palette

  1. Amria says:

    I always love their packaging, so cute to have around and put in your purse.

  2. Carina says:

    AGH, NOW I want it. LOL. So pretty!

  3. Pingback: Best products from 2013 | natzisstash

  4. Open says:

    Wow That would be the best swag ever! Urban Decay is my favorite brand and OPI is prtety amazing too. I am arguing with myself over whether or not to buy the UD sets .but I don’t really need them. Staying strong. : )

Leave a Reply

