Product Rave: OCC Lip Tar in Black Dahlia

IMG_5913

It’s been a while since I’ve touched my lip tars (shockhorrorohno). Black Dahlia is the last of the six lip tars I bought the other time! I only have Tarred left to review now. (That one will take a while.)

Black Dahlia is described as ‘Blackest blackened red‘. I think of it as a a blackberry colour, which I absolutely love. It has a stain-like appearance on my lips, despite the darkness of the colour so it never quite gets completely opaque without overapplying (and even then, all that product comes off once you blot it gently with a tissue). Still, I love the intensity of the shade.

IMG_5631

Black Dahlia’s the second lip tar from the right.

IMG_5638

Third swatch from the right.IMG_5920 IMG_5910

From a distance, it looks fairly even on the lips. It is not however. The lip tar tends to emphasize any uneveness on the lip – so remember to exfoliate before you apply this!

Black Dahlia is a product that requires a huge amount of patience to get right. I find that I can get away with using my fingers to apply most my other lip tars, but I needed a brush with Black Dahlia. To get the intensity of the colour you see in the photos, I applied one layer, blotted, wiped off the feathering edges (yes it feathers easily) and then applied another layer, blotted, and cleaned up the edges again. I’m used to just dabbing my colour on so this is really troublesome for me. =/

It also stains the skin easily, so do take note of that.

After wearing Black Dahlia for about six hours (and I had a meal at Texas Chicken during that time too), the colour looks like

IMG_5935 IMG_5944

It’s not so purple anymore – in fact, it looks lot more like a berry rather than a wine. It reminds me of MAC Hang-Up and MAC Rebel.

Though the colour’s changed, it’s still going strong, and I bet can last for another two hours or so.

Note: The colour stains. Intensely. Rub olive oil if you’re bothered by it. My lips still look faintly purple more than twelve hours after removing it. 

tl;dr
Cost: SGD 23.90, USD 18
Does it work: It’s a beautiful blackened red purple (think blackberries) that shifts to a redder berry after a few hours. It certainly lasts long, but requires a lip brush and a very steady hand to apply.
Would I recommend it: As much as I love this colour, this lip tar requires a lot of work to get right. I’d recommend it only if you’re willing to do the necessary exfoliation, and careful lining with a lip brush.

If you liked the post, please like my Facebook page for more updates and posts on beauty-related things.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Product Rave: OCC Lip Tar in Black Dahlia

  1. izziekiki says:

    Really useful and informative! 🙂

  2. Erika says:

    Really pretty color! I’m the one who replied to your comment on Eye of the Beholder, BTW, and I checked out your blog. I found your blog tagline very amusing because it’s also exactly why I started blogging. 😆

    New follower here! Hope you can check out my blog and follow back when you have the time. 🙂
    http://erikadjesus.wordpress.com

  3. i’ve been eyeing this lip tar since last fall…I think its time for me to go out and buy it, its so gorgeous

Leave a Reply

