Finding happiness in the little things

So it’s hell week at university now. I had two deadlines last week, three this week and one more next Monday. Also I decided for some reason that it would be a great idea to jaunt over the Malaysia this weekend for a debate tournament.

So yes I’m a little sleep deprived. Not stressed, just tired. And I’ve been stuck in my room all day churning out papers so I haven’t really had the opportunity to dress up or do any kind of makeup. And that usually makes me feel better.

And then my mother dropped by my hostel today with a new pair of sandals. (My white ones  broke a couple of weeks back which annoys me because they were only a couple of months old.)

She said that she couldn’t find a white pair of sandals since all the  stores are transiting to fall/winter fashion now. This confuses me because it’s summer in Singapore all the time, so I’d expect at least one store to still stock them but whatever.

But she found a nude felt suede pair instead and I am in love.

IMG_5948 IMG_5949

They have a slight heel too. Any bit of height helps when you’re as short as I am.

There’s a school of thought that you shouldn’t find happiness in material things, but I find that there’s nothing really wrong in finding happiness that. Books make me happy, as does pretty clothes and jewellery. Unless of course, you’re spending way beyond your means but everything in moderation.

Speaking of pretty things, I found an absolutely lovely site located in Singapore that sells pretty and unique handmade jewellery pieces.

1391441_552654951469659_292553820_n

Have a look at Kebaya Blue‘s amazing Indigo collection. There’s something so soothing about these pieces. And a lot of the patterns look very Japanese inspired, so I don’t know, ‘zen’ just pops in my mind as I look at them. A lot of the Batik prints are inspired by Southeast Asian culture. Also, they ship worldwide so do check them out!

I’ve ordered a few items from them. (Couldn’t resist!) I can’t wait to try them on.

If I can wake up early enough tomorrow, I’ll dress a little nicer tomorrow. I can’t wait to wear my new sandals out!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Finding happiness in the little things

  1. Amria says:

    Good luck with all that’s going on in school Nat! 😀 And have the best times ever wearing your new sandals 🙂

  2. Erika says:

    I’m going through my uni’s hell week as well (which explains my inability to blog as of the moment), but really, every week is hell week when the schedule is trimestral. 😯

    Best of luck with your acads! I hope we both get to spend time on our hobbies again ASAP. 😆

    • natziwang says:

      O.O What kind of a university has a trimestral schedule? Good luck to us both and may we survive to se the holidays. XD

      • Erika says:

        Ever heard of De La Salle University – Manila? It’s one of the top universities in the Philippines.. and also one of the deadliest in terms of stress levels caused within students lol. Good luck to both of us indeed. 😆

      • natziwang says:

        Oh yes, I have! Haven’t actually been there but I’ve debated with a few of the students there.

Leave a Reply

