Failed look: Sweet Cranberry

IMG_6155

So, as the title states, this is a bit of a failed look. It look alright in the photo above, but a closeup is a little… =/

I was digging around for products that I don’t use very often, and I pulled out my MAC Cranberry.

MAC Cranberry and Elektra 2

MAC Cranberry on the left, I think it’s Elektra on the right.

It’ a beautiful burgundy red in the pot, but for some reason, always becomes an odd shade of pink on me. I applied it in the crease, but overblended it so it overwhelmed the deeper purples I’d used on the outer third of the eye.

IMG_6173

Also, I don’t quite like how the silver with it. In retrospect, I should have used Urban Decay Spell, which is a dirty gold colour, instead of silvery toned stuff.

I can’t seem to wear MAC Cranberry. I think I’ve finally hit a colour that I can’t quite pull off. Cranberry and other burgundy shades usually look absolutely gorgeous on warmer skin tones, but it just gives me a pink eye. And I’ve managed to wear it if it’s a smoky eye, blended out into black. I’ll keep trying to find a way to wear it.

IMG_6123

Colour palette used. From left to right: Bobbi Brown Pot Rogue in Raspberry, Maybelline 24 Hour Tattoo in Pomegranate Punk, MAC Cranberry, Urban Decay Tornado, Urban Decay Oz (silver and gold microglitter)
IMG_6127 IMG_6169

What are colours you can’t seem to find a way to wear?

If you liked the post, please like my Facebook page for more updates and posts on beauty-related things!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Failed look: Sweet Cranberry

  1. I look best in warm, fall colours and awful in cool colours. 😦

  2. Amria says:

    How can this be failed, it looks great to me, you don’t know what you’re talking! 😀 I adore the dollish look it gives you

    • natziwang says:

      I just really don’t like the way Cranberry looks on me I guess. It’s not a very flattering shade of pinky red. And it doesn’t go very well with the silver. =(

  3. Carina says:

    Try to pair it with browns? I’ll never forget a tip I read from a shu uemura makeup artist’s blog, which is to wear pinks with browns. I know this isn’t pink, but if you are avoiding a pink eye effect, try that tip? 🙂

  4. Olivia says:

    Silver looks awful on me, I think it’s the ultra-warm toned skin. So unfortunate because I love silver eyeliner 😦

    • natziwang says:

      There are warmer silvers and greys you can still use, right? Unfortunately there aren’t many eyeliners in those colours, but there’s always eyeshadow!

      I always thought I had neutral toned skin, so I’m pretty surprised Cranberry ended up looking this awful on me. =(

Leave a Reply

