Product Rant: Benefit ChaCha Tint

 IMG_6228

Finally reviewing Benefit ChaCha Tint! Do note that the bottle I have is not full sized (the full sized bottle is USD30 and SGD51 for 12ml of product), and only contains 4ml of product. It was part of the Benefit Tropicoral set that I purchased (you can view the rest of the products here)

ChaCha Tint is described as a ‘mango tinted lip & cheek stain’. ‘This mango-tinted stain beautifully blushes lips & cheeks with a tropical coral hue. Smooch-proof & smudge-proof, our sheer stain has a natural finish that will leave you looking deliciously vibrant for hours.’

I honestly don’t know how they go from ‘sheer stain’ and ‘vibrant’. It is sheer, and the colour just looks less flattering if you attempt to build it up (so don’t).

IMG_5622

ChaCha Tint is the second swatch from the top.

In the photos below, I’ve used ChaCha Tint on both my lips and cheeks.

IMG_6209

IMG_6218

I really love how ChaCha Tint turned out on my cheeks.  I was worried it was just going to turn a weird fluorescent orange at first, but as I blended it out with my stippling brush, it took on a slightly rosier undertone, and gave me the prettiest dewy orange flush. I did overapply by accident at first, and then buffed it out with some powder after. I’m typing this five hours after I applied it, and it’s still quite obviously there.

When applied on the lips, it brightens my natural lip colour very subtly, but otherwise it’s rather sheer. It is also slightly drying. The colour is so sheer it’s a little hard to discern when it fell off, but it’s definitely not as long-wearing as I thought it might be – it didn’t make it through lunch.

The thing is, while ChaCha tint works and isn’t all that bad, it isn’t something that I feel like I can recommend, because of the sheerness of the colour and the price range. If you’re looking for a lip and cheek stain, I’d recommend Bobbi Brown’s Pot Rogue instead, in either Calpyso Coral or Fresh Melon, depending which suits your skin tone or personal preferences better. I reviewed it in Raspberry earlier this year. Not only is there a larger range of colours, it’s also cheaper (USD24, and SGD42). Though there is less product (3.8ml vs. ChaCha Tint’s 12ml), trust me when I say it’ll be a good long time before you finish even 3ml of product. But most importantly, the formula is better. The Pot Rogue always lasts me for hours, and I won’t even feel the need to touch up after a meal. It is also absolutely gorgeous on the cheeks – just check out the images for Calypso Coral and Fresh Melon on Google. I find them far more appealing than ChaCha Tint, and they’re more versatile, as you can build them up without looking like someone smeared a fluorescent pen on your cheeks.

tl;dr
Cost: SGD51 and USD30 for the full bottle (12ml)
Does it work: It gives a pretty coral flush on the cheeks, and brightens my lips slightly. Be careful not to overapply though, or it’ll turn this awful shade of orange. As a cheek tint, it lasted five hours in the heat and humidity on me, and showed no signs of letting up. It would probably go for another three hours. However, it wore off quickly as a lip tint.
Would I recommend it: No, I just can’t. Just check out Bobbi Brown Pot Rogue if you’re looking for a lip and cheek stain.

If you liked the post, please like my Facebook page for more updates and posts on beauty-related things!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Product Rant: Benefit ChaCha Tint

  1. afternoonlattes says:

    I agree with your review! a lot of the time with benefit products its either a hit or miss for me
    http://afternoonlattes.wordpress.com

    • natziwang says:

      I actually don’t like the most of them – they’re far too sheer for my liking, and I hate having to build up products. But I do see how they’re good for people who have a habit of overapplying, or are just not comfortable with too much makeup n their faces. I do love the funness of their packaging though!

  2. themakeuphound says:

    Thanks for the honest review! I’ve never looked at cha cha to buy and now I don’t think i’l ever commit. Benefits posie tint was the same, although I did buy that but got so fed up with how it slid off. Benetint IMO is the only stand out stain x

Leave a Reply

