The Bare Essentials


IMG_6258
I do not understand how those eye bags keep appearing in photos even though I have already erased them away with concealer and I cannot see anything when I look in the mirror. What kind of sorcery is happening here??

So I had an interview with my professors for the Student Exchange Programme earlier. Here’s my no-makeup makeup look. It’s just enough to make me look like a healthy human being. The primary purpose of this makeup is to conceal eyebags, and add some kind of healthy colour to my skin. 

IMG_6256
See, no eye bags! The concealer did work!

This is when Benefit Coralista comes to the rescue! It’s sheerness is actually a good thing now, and the subtle golden sheen (the entire reason why I bought it) gives a gorgeous glow to my cheeks. Also, yes, I am using Benefit They’re Real! mascara on my lashes. I did not curl them beforehand, and this is the magic that they bestow.

IMG_6259My skin’s actually good enough right now so I didn’t wear any kind of foundation, just a dusting of sheer powder for some glow.

IMG_6262Products used:

1) I applied my Catrice Concealer on my eye bags. First the pink to brighten the dark circles, then the light beige to cover it up
2) I then used my Kabuki brush to dust Hourglass Mood Light Ambient Lighting Powder all over my skin (I usually use it as a setting powder, but whatever works for today)
3) I then used my Kabuki brush to buff Benefit Coralista into my cheeks
4) I used Benefit’s They’re Real! mascara on my eyelashes
5) I used a rosy nude lip pencil on my lips
6) I then dabbed just a bit of Painted Earth Mint Mauve lipgloss on top for a little shine

What do you think? How do you get a no-makeup makeup look?

If you liked the post, please like my Facebook page for more updates and posts on beauty-related things!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Bare Essentials

  1. Looks gorgeous. So jelly of your skin. Please put larger photos? I’m always squinting at your makeup. Is the texture of the palette good? I’ve only used liquid, and even then it’s kind of cakey. I only use fingers, no brushes.

    • natziwang says:

      Click on it to zoom! Liquid’s only cakey if you’ve overapplied. I find that applying just a small amount on your fingers then rubbing your fingers together to warm up the product before applying it to your nose and cheeks, then spreading it out to the rest of the face.

      Which palette are you talking about? The powder compact? You can’t get hold of it in Singapore unfortunately, Sephora stopped selling Hourglass. =( But I find a Kabuki brush always helps in making makeup (whether liquid or powder) sink into the skin properly, once you buff that in.

      Are you ever going to come over so I can give you a makeover? =)

  2. Erika says:

    Hi Natalie! I nominated you for the WordPress Family award. 🙂 Please check http://erikadjesus.wordpress.com for details! Thank you! x

  3. Pingback: Yet another interview face | natzisstash

Leave a Reply

