Thanksgiving Haul (with swatches)

Not that I celebrate Thanksgiving. But these were bought under life threatening conditions over Thanksgiving weekend at a Sephora surrounded by rabid shoppers (but of course, 40% off is no joke). I didn’t get a discount on my stuff, but I’m saving a substantial amount for my products since they’re bought in the US and stowed in a checked in luggage, rather than buying it in Singapore. These are all items that I can purchase in Singapore, but I just can’t bring myself to because of expensive markups. I’ve saved about SGD70 from not buying them in Singapore.

IMG_6361

So here are my products:

  • MAC Viva Glam I Lipglass
  • MAC Viva Glam I Lipstick (I’d actually wanted it in the Stroke of Midnight collection which comes with a free pouch but they sold out)
  • Laura Mercier Artist’s Palette for Eyes (this is from the 2013 holiday collection, which is sold out in Singapore if I’m not wrong. I got the last palette from that department store <3)
  • Urban Decay Perversion 24/7 Glide Eyeliner
  • Sephora Infinite Rose Cream Lip Stain
  • NARS Oasis Blush (which I have been eyeing for the longest time)

And closeups! I usually prefer natural lighting for my photos but it’s already gotten dark and I have to make do with lighting in my room. Colours aren’t quite right but they’re the closest I can get them to.

IMG_6363

IMG_6364IMG_6365

IMG_6366

IMG_6368

IMG_6371IMG_6370  

I really really love the packaging of the Laura Mercier palette. It’s going to be a pleasure traveling around with this.

And swatches!

IMG_6378

Urban Decay’s Perversion vs Zero, which are the two black eyeliners the brand carries. There is no comparison – Peversion is creamier and darker. It’s the perfect black eyeliner, just perfect.

IMG_6374 IMG_6376

From left to right, MAC Viva Glam I lipstick, Sephora Infinite Rose Cream Lip Stain, MAC Viva Glam I lipglass, and the NARS Oasis blush

IMG_6379

Pulled out my other red lipsticks to compare with Viva Glam I. As I thought, there are no real dupes. Viva Glam I is more brown-based than the other ones I have, and even then is really different from OCC Starling, which is brown rather than red.

Swatches from top to bottom:

  • MAC Viva Glam I
  • NYX Snow White
  • MAC Ruby Woo
  • MAC Kanga Rogue
  • Revlon True Red
  • (on the left) Urban Decay Theodora 

IMG_6381

IMG_6382

Swatches from the Laura Mercier palette. You can hardly see them with the crappy lighting, I’ll redo the swatches another time. I am so pleased with this palette, especially with the lovely nudes and mattes it comes with. I may not even need the Urban Decay Naked 3 palette now. (Who am I kidding, I will buy it, just not immediately). So happy that I now own something from Laura Mercier and NARS, I’ve been hearing such great things about the brands!

If you liked the post, please like my Facebook page for more updates and posts on beauty-related things!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Thanksgiving Haul (with swatches)

  1. Amria says:

    Such pretty colours in the palette 🙂 x

  2. Ms B. BAD says:

    Loveee the pallete!

  3. nhieubeauty says:

    That’s some great stuff you’ve got there! So finally your bf came home with the makeup 😉

  4. Shari says:

    Oh wow that LM palette!! 🙂 I’ve been eyeing that too but resisted!
    Also, NARS Oasis looks beautiful 🙂 I hope you love VG1 lipstick as much as I do! The color is my HG red. ALthough the formula is a bit drying 😐

    • natziwang says:

      Is the formula drying? I always thought it was a lot better than Ruby Woo. It felt fairly creamy when I swatched it too!

    • Erika says:

      Wow, glad to know you two “know” each other too. The blogosphere is a small place. 😆

      Anyway, Natalie, I agree with Shari.. the VG1 *can* be a bit drying on its own, but when I layer it over the MAC Prep + Prime Lip or the Korres Lip Butter you recommended, it isn’t drying at all! I tried it over the Korres Lip Butter Glaze too (15 minutes after application, though), and it had a nice effect in a sense that it was as if VG1 had a cremesheen finish. 🙂

  5. Erika says:

    HURRAAAAYYY now we both have the Laura Mercier Artist’s Palette for Eyes! So glad you were able to snag the last one! ❤

  6. She says:

    Ooo, lovely. I like the look of the eye palette, thanks for sharing , Susan x

Leave a Reply

