Product Rave: MAC Viva Glam I Lipstick and Lipglass

I’m reviewing two products in this post, MAC Viva Glam I Lipstick and Lipglass. The two products are sold together for USD30 (if it’s still sold anyways) and SGD70 (an extra SGD10 for the bag I still cannot believe it =/). Or you can buy them separately for USD15 and SGD30.

mac_strokeofmidnightvivaglam001 (1)

MAC Viva Glamorous Lip Bag, image from Temptalia

IMG_6374

MAC Viva Glam I Lipstick swatch.

IMG_6710IMG_6731

I don’t know why it looks so blue-red in most of the photos I’m wearing it in, but it’s not.

MAC Viva Glam I Lipstick is a matte brown red. It’s not the same retro formula as MAC Ruby Woo, so it’s nowhere near as drying, but it’s definitely not a moisturizing formula. It wore for almost eight hours the first time I wore it, which is crazy. (I drink lots of water so lip products tend to wear a shorter time on me than most people.)

IMG_6376

MAC Viva Glam I Lipglass is the swatch in the middle of course.

IMG_6490IMG_6481

MAC Viva Glam I Lipglass is a glossy muted red brown, slightly less red than the lipstick formula. It has a tacky texture, which is a feature of all MAC lipglasses, but it seems very slightly less tacky than the usual lipglass. It wore for about six hours on me, and I love that very much since lip glosses never stay on my lips.

I love both these products, and they are my new favourite day-reds. Viva Glam I is the perfect colour to use as an everyday red, as the brown tones mute it down, but keep it a beautiful strong – but never overwhelming – look.

tl;dr
Cost: SGD30 and USD15 per piece.
Does it work: The lipstick lasts eight hours on me, the lipgloss six hours. Both are wonderful; pigmented, long-wearing, and such pretty colours. As a matte, the lipstick texture is slightly dry and I’d recommend applying lip balm first, and then using a lip brush after.
Would I recommend it: Yes, yes yes. Viva Glam I is the perfect colour to use as an everyday red, as the brown tones mute it down, but keep it a beautiful strong – but never overwhelming – look. It’s a great choice if you’re scared off by bold reds like Sephora Always Red Lip Cream.

If you liked the post, please like my Facebook page for more updates and posts on beauty-related things!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Product Rave: MAC Viva Glam I Lipstick and Lipglass

  1. I got this for christmas! I love the colour its so wearable x

  2. I’m going to need to get this for sure. Looks so lovely on you and I adore the hairstyle. So pretty!

  3. gilvania gil says:

    Follow you, follow me?
    I’m from Brazil, I loved your blog

  4. Pingback: Best products from 2013 | natzisstash

  5. Pingback: My Favourites from 2013 | natzisstash

  6. Amria says:

    The colours are so pretty but I really didn’t like the pouch, But that’s just me. I just thought they could do better 😀 Missed you Nat!

    • natziwang says:

      The pouch looks pretty cheap, yeah. I was a little disappointed that I didn’t get it at first, but it really doesn’t compare to other ones.

      Aww. I missed you and your pretty looks too. ❤

Leave a Reply

