Frothy Frothy Lace

IMG_6985

This is a look inspired by the clean freshness of Japanese ads.

65642_10151565493029648_1062060588_n

Image from here

Kanebo-Coffret-dOr-Fall-2012-Makeup-1

Image from here

It’s a wide-eyed innocent look I’m after, to go with this sweet lace dress I’m wearing. The thing is so soft I always feel like burying my face in it.

Also, I take back everything bad I’ve ever said about matte pale pink blushes. I ranted about them previously about not being warm enough, and being too artificial doll-like.  I mean, I usually use brown-based blushes like MAC Warm Soul and Benefit Rockateur. If I want to switch it up I’d use an orange based coral, MAC Ripe for Love. And if I really have to use a pink, I use my strawberry-red MAC Gleefulor MAC Born to Love which is a pink based coral.

mac_quitecoralkit009

Swatch of MAC Born to Love, image from Temptalia

I was already a little apprehensive as I dipped my brush into the blush but as I patted on the pastel pink onto my face – oh wow.

It yielded just the right amount of colour to give me a very slight flush that looked all-natural. I am upset my camera does not capture the colour so well because loading up more blush for it to turn up would ruin that natural look, but trust me when I say that it’s lovely.

IMG_6989 IMG_6983 IMG_6995

IMG_6975

IMG_6973

Makeup used:

Eyes

1) I used an angled liner brush and drew a very small cat eye (kitten eye really) with Urban Decay Busted  (satin deep cool brown) and smudged it with a pencil brush to get a smoky brown haze. I used the same eyeshadow to line my lower lashline.
2) Using the same angled liner brush, I applied Urban Decay Blackout (matte black) and lined the lower lashes in cat eye again, and then smudged that out. This creates a beautiful smoky gradient.
3) Then I used L’Oreal Double Extend Beauty Tube Mascara on my upper and lower lashes

Face

1) I used the L’Oreal Resurfacing Primer as a base
2) I then applied Maybelline BB Watergel on top
3) I used L’Oreal Baby Blossom True Match Blush (matte powder pink) on the apples of my cheeks
4) I then used MAC Warm Soul to contour my cheeks (I have been neglecting this baby since buying Benefit Rockateur and I am sorry)
5) I dusted Hourglass Mood Light Ambient Lighting Powder as a setting powder, dusted all over the face

Lips 

1) I used OCC Clockwork (cream orange based coral) on the lips
2) Benefit Coralista (juicy sheer pink coral gloss) on top

IMG_6990

What do you think of the look? Leave your answer in the comments!

If you liked the post, please like my Facebook page for more updates and posts on beauty-related things!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Frothy Frothy Lace

  1. Amria says:

    Love it, especially how you match it with the lipstick.

  2. Nailed it! AMAZING lip colour!!

  3. Erika says:

    You know, you kind of look like the lady on the second ad you shared. 😆 And I agree with the previous commenters, you nailed it!

Leave a Reply

