What no one told you about depotting lipsticks

It’s a messy messy job. My hands and fingers are stained pink and orange now.

IMG_7048

I dropped by Daiso a few days back and bought a few of those screw on cap container thingies to store my lipsticks.

Things to note:

1) Place your lipstick pot on top of a bunch of tissues because some of it will be bound to run down the sides
2) The pots will be hot. I dropped a pot and it splattered everywhere. =( Be extremely careful when you touch them 
3) Have lots and lots of tissue nearby

It was pretty easy. I just broke off the lipstick and placed it in the pot, scooped up as much as I could left in the lipstick container with a plastic knife, smooshed and crushed up the lipstick in the container, then heated it up with a hairdryer.

IMG_7050

IMG_7052

I depotted my six of my Maybelline lipsticks – Electric Orange, Vibrant Mandarin, Shocking Coral, Fuschia Flash, Hot Plum and Brazen Berry. These – especially the purples – are lipsticks that I don’t use very often. I’d suggest that no one depot their lipsticks if it’s a limited edition lipstick or your favourite colour that you’re going to wear down to the bullet, because you’re going to lose a bit (or quite a bit) of product as you depot it.

IMG_7053

Also, I bought these earrings from Daiso. As everything from Daiso, they’re only $2 (happy day). I have a thing for kimono fabrics, and was really happy to find this. Will probably be wearing the heck out of them over the next few days.

If you liked the post, please like my Facebook page for more updates and posts on beauty-related things!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What no one told you about depotting lipsticks

  1. lov3less says:

    Cute earrings. I have not seen them at Daiso.

  2. Carina says:

    No kidding, I depotted some lipsticks too! I didn’t end up using heat on them, just chop then smoosh. I used pillboxes!

  3. I wouldn’t have thought of using a hair drying, smart! I might give that a go.

  4. Oh no! I didn’t have any of those problems lol

Leave a Reply

