Maybelline Brazen Berry is a Radiant Orchid

Color-of-the-year

Image from here

pantone-radiant-orchid-w724

Image from here

So in case you haven’t heard, Radiant Orchid is the colour for 2014.

Frankly, I’m not a big fan of the pale lavender colour you see in the first photo above. I’m pretty sure it’s just going to wash me out. But the nails (nails look fairly similar, but have stronger pink tones than Radiant Orchid itself) and the lips in the second photo? ❤ Yes please.

Today  I’m wearing Maybelline Brazen Berry from the extremely popular Vivids line. It’s most definitely not Radiant Orchid, but it’s a blue-purple in the same vein, just darker. I’ve muted the colour by applying petroleum jelly on before patting a minute amount of lipstick on.

(Also I’ve moved back to my hostel, yipee, this means photos with significantly better lighting).

IMG_7087

Got my specs pushed up in my hair here, which is why it’s in a mess.

IMG_7089 IMG_7081

I’m wearing pink eyeshadow here, with brown eyeliner and a coral blush. It’s a pity the gold liner I used on my lower lashline isn’t visible in this photo. 

IMG_2985

This is an old photo of myself wearing Brazen Berry in its full glory. As you can see, this it’s actually beautiful bright blue-purple. It will probably look slightly less blue-toned on people with less pigmented lips.

IMG_7075

I hardly ever wear makeup when wearing my specs, but I’m running out of my disposable contacts so I’ve decided not to wear them today. I’ve realised from makeup tutorials on spectacle-makeup that it’s usually aimed to brighten and open up the eyes. I had only patted on a pink eyeshadow (Urban Decay Magic), swiped on some brown eyeliner and used Benefit Coralista for some colour on the cheeks. 

Below’s a photo of the makeup I’ve used for today (ignore the messy desk). IMG_7070 IMG_7071

See that gorgeous purple that is Maybelline Brazen Berry. (I’ve depotted it.) The eyeliners I used were Makeup Forever Gypsy (matte red brown) and L’Oreal Gold Charge Hip Chrome Eyeliner (metallic jewellery gold).

IMG_7072

Urban Decay Magic, which is a lavender toned pink with gold shimmer. I am unfortunately not able to get a good photo of a swatch of it – the gold shimmer is subtle, but so so beautiful on the lid.

urbandecay_glindapalette010

Here’s a swatch of Urban Decay Magic from Temptalia

IMG_7073

Benefit Coralista, a coral with gold shimmer was used on the cheeks

On a side note, I’ve also used painted my nails (like actually. I rarely ever do this). It’s unevenly done, I didn’t do a base coat but yay, purple to match.

IMG_7069

If you liked the post, please like my Facebook page for more updates and posts on beauty-related things!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Maybelline Brazen Berry is a Radiant Orchid

  1. Olivia says:

    That color is gorgeous!! Definitely going to pick one up on my next Target run. It looks beautiful on you 🙂

  2. Pingback: Brazen Berry | Yvette's Image

  3. Pingback: Radiant Orchid Cheeks + Pink Glossy Lids | Natzi's Stash

Leave a Reply

