Rainbow Tag

Maria very kindly tagged me in the Rainbow Tag. I’m going to list out as many different products (eyeshadow, blush, lipstick, etc.) for this one, even though you’re supposed to do just the one I think. I love colour in my makeup, and I’m happy to share my favourites. =)

rainbow (1)

Red

EyeshadowMAC Cranberry

MAC Cranberry and Elektra 2IMG_6123

Cranberry is the swatch on the left

There aren’t very many proper fire engine red eyeshadows out there (the red pigment is a tricky one and usually causes irritation to the eyes). Cranberry is a deep well, cranberry colour with pink-purple tones.

Blush: MAC Gleeful

 IMG_7489 IMG_7491

Gleeful is the swatch on top. I always used to think of it as a strawberry red. It’s the perfect blush for me to get that flushed ‘I just ran up the stairs’ kind of look.

Lips: I’ve talked so much about Sephora Always Red Lip Cream (which I still maintain is the perfect red lip) but here’s another treasure that doesn’t receive nearly as enough attention, OCC Psycho, a beautiful vibrant orange red.

 IMG_5708 IMG_5712

Orange

EyeshadowMaybelline Fierce and Tangy 24 Hour Paint Pot

How I love this product. It’s a matte yellow orange. It doesn’t budge once you put it on, and it’s such a wonderful shade.I’ve used it as a base, as an eyeshadow in itself. I’ve matched it with pinks, browns and purples and I love it  so much.

Blush: I’d love to say MAC Ripe for Love, but it’s a limited edition. So here’s Benefit ChaCha Tint instead.

IMG_6228IMG_6218

In the look on the right, I applied ChaCha Tint on my lips and cheeks

Lips: OCC Androgyne, and Maybelline Electric Orange

IMG_4589IMG_4592

OCC Androgyne is a wonderful glossy orange lip tar (turns coral on my pigmented lips) that can be mixed with other lip tars to produce all sorts of wonderful results.

IMG_4550

I’ve not reviewed this one and I haven’t touched it in a while, but here’s Maybelline Electric Orange as well. It turns inoto a lovely orange coral on my lips.

Yellow

I don’t really have any yellow products, so I’m just going for gold here.

Eyeshadow: OCC Triptych

IMG_5191

In this look I’m wearing OCC Triptych Loose Powder Concentrate on the eyes and OCC Triptych Lip Tar on the lips

Lips: Bobbi Brown Canary 

IMG_6041 IMG_6087

Canary is the lovely shimmery thing in the middle.  The photo on the right is a look I never uploaded, where I have Canary on my lips. It’s a very subtle shimmer effect that’s difficult to capture on the camera, and it tends to lighten my lip colour slightly. I unfortunately don’t have a good photo of this one, but go check out Temptalia’s review.

Green

Eyeshadow: Maybelline Edgy Emerald 24 Hour Tattoo

IMG_3225

IMG_3054

Edgy Emerald is the second swatch from the right. It’s not quite a matte, but not quite a metallic either, somewhere in between.

DSCN0300

I’ve used it as an eyeliner here, it’s a wonderful vibrant green.

IMG_3245

I used Edgy Emerald as a base in this green look

Blue

Eyeshadow: Maybelline Tenacious Teal

IMG_3054

The last swatch there. Definitely not a teal colour, but a topaz blue.

IMG_5204

Not a good photo because lighting sucked at that point, but here I used it as an all-over colour on the eye.

Indigo

It took me a while to come up with this one, because, shockingly, I do not have a deep inky blue eyeshadow. I will have to rectify this soon.

guerlain_terraincapalette005

But to be fair, true indigos like this eyeshadow from the Guerlain Terre Indigo Eyeshadow palette are rare.  I was searching around for a permanent eyeshadow colour, and Sephora My Boyfriend’s Jeans seems like a decent one.

sephora_19myboyfriendsjeans003

Violet

Eyeshadow: Laura Mercier African Violet

IMG_7340

IMG_7343

While it’s one of the most beautiful colours I know, it’s a pity that African Violet has poor longevity on the eye. In this look, the purple was gone within three hours despite my putting it over a base. =(

Hope you enjoyed this post! Feel free to do it as well and share your favourite products!

– – –

Follow me!

Facebook
Instagram

This entry was posted in Awards and Tags, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

