Product Rave: Maybelline the Rocket Volum’ Express mascara

DSCN0929

It’s taken me a while to jump onto this one. I’ve been pretty happy with the mascaras I have so far, and Maybelline, though a drugstore brand in Singapore, is still somewhat pricey. It’s USD5.99 at Walmart, but SGD18.90 here. Argh.

I passed by a Maybelline counter in Jakarta (yes, drugstore brands like Revlon and Maybelline had actual counters in department stores there) and thought the markup would be insane.

It wasn’t.

I can’t remember now how much I paid for it, but no more than SGD10. I was very happy that day.

DSCN0927 DSCN0928

The wand bristles are spiky, much like the ones for Benefit They’re Real! mascara. Do note though, it will separate out the lashes and you tend to get a ‘spikier’ look rather than a fuller one (I do prefer the latter actually). However, the spikiness of the wand does mean you get a bit more control over it and can get at the lashes at the corners better.

This is a somewhat clumpy formula, so you’ll want to comb out the clumps at the end. I do find that clumpy formulas are good for girls with sparser lashes, as it thickens your lashes better.

It lengthens. It volumizes. Oh gosh, how it lengthens.

Even without curling my lashes, it gives it a curl (much like Benefit’s They’re Real!)

DSCN0901

Without mascara (I curled my lashes though)

DSCN0895

With mascara (upper lashline only). See how much more pronnounced the curl is now?

DSCN0900

Without mascara

DSCN0899

With mascara

See how long and black and feathery my lashes look with it?

Also, it flakes when you try to remove it. A lot.

Personally, I don’t have a problem with this. It hasn’t smudged on me since I’ve worn it in Indonesia (which is warm and humid) and it applies fine (though you might want to comb out clumps!) but I love this mascara.

tl;dr
Cost: SGD18.90, USD5.99
Does it work: Yes. It goes on beautifully (clumps slightly though) and doesn’t smudge.
Would I recommend it: Yes.

Follow me!

Facebook
Instagram

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Product Rave: Maybelline the Rocket Volum’ Express mascara

  1. Amria says:

    We have the same darn problem in Romania. I just payed 13$ for a revlon eye liner that in target is 5$. I hate my life for this but I will still try this mascara because Maybelline is generally ok and I liked the majority of their lash products

  2. To be honest, I don’t like this mascara. I know a lot of people have been raving about it but it really doesn’t work for me. I hate it when mascaras have a clumpy formula because I want to have fuller lashes. Hehe. Great review though! 🙂

    • natziwang says:

      Haha. I find clumpy mascaras work best on people with short and sparse lashes, and that really works with Asian eyes. But to each his own. Thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

