Golden Dawn

Remember the shoot I mentioned the other time? The edited photographs are up! No real photoshopping of my face or anything like that, but the photographer mostly adjusted the white balance and added some filters. I love how warm the photographs look. Check out my Facebook page for the full album. Meanwhile, here are a few photos. Details for the stylings of the shoot are below.

DSC_5356_0126

I still really like this candid shot.

We did the shoot in Singapore’s Botanic Gardens, or more specifically, in the Evolution Gardens section.  Being there felt like I was transported out of tropical Asia. I don’t know if it were the rocky croppings or all that moss, but if it weren’t for the random lamps, the pathways and of course the tourists, I was imagining myself in some random European forest. I just needed early morning mist and for the weather to be ten degrees colder.

DSCN0950 DSCN0954 DSCN0953

Some of the photos for the shoot!

1798194_238946092955651_596007427_n1798850_238946449622282_1584478178_n  10001278_238946936288900_1402439869_n

1506600_238946536288940_1533477268_nPhotographs and edits by Tanlin Photography
Makeup and modeling by me 

STYLING THE SHOOT

Clothes:

For the first half of the shoot, I’m wearing a white cotton lace dress I bought in Bandung from a local brand called RetailTherapy. I’m not kidding about the brand name. It’s like wearing a giant poncho and I love it. It’s so soft and angelic looking and feeling. ❤ I wish I could have gone barefoot a little more but the rocks in the area were a little sharp so it was dangerous. The shoes are from Charles and Keith.

The second dress is the UNIF Keeper’s Dress, unfortunately now unavailable. I’ve wanted a good photo of it for ages. I love the way it looks when it moves. The shoes are the UNIF Confession Boot (can you tell how much I love the brand?)

Jewellery

For the first shoot I was wearing this gold headband thing (that can double as a necklace) from Zara.

DSCN0644

I was also wearing this giant antiquated gold ring, which I had bought randomly from a flea a couple of years ago.

Makeup:

I find natural makeup the most difficult for shoots. My makeup here took me an hour to do (just look at the huge number of steps below!). I basically kept waiting for one product to set before I dared layer something else on, just in case it ended up looking cakey. And of course, I spritzed my face down with some water to take away powderiness.

Products used:

DSCN0971

Various eye makeup used

Brit Pop Palette (left)

I used the orange shadow here

DSCN0976

I purchased these falsies from Daiso for $2. I used them only twice – once for testing them, and the other during the shoot itself then chucked it away as I couldn’t remove the glue from it. They were wonderful, giving very subtle volume and flare for my makeup.

Eyes

1) I prepped them with MAC Bare Study Paint Pot (beige with gold pearl)
2) I then took a fluffy blush and applied MAC Warm Soul Mineralize Blush (peachy bronze with gold pearl) all over the lid for a soft colour
3) I lined my upper lashline with Maybelline Fierce and Tangy (orange cream)
4) I then used a burnt orange eyeshadow to darken and set it
5) I curled my lashes and applied Maybelline Rocket Mascara
6) I applied falsies, which are this short pair that only cover the last two thirds of the eye. It gives a beautiful winged out effect.
7) I then used MAC Blacktrack (matte black gel) to line the inner third of the eye, to join the false lash better to the eye
8) I used another coat of the mascara to join the falsies with the eye
9) I darkened my brows, then combed petroleum jelly through them
10) I then used MAC Dazzlelight (soft beige white) and dusted the inner corners of the eyes and brow bone

DSCN0975

Various face products used.

DSCN0973

The three blushes used. From right to left (in order of use): Maybelline Candy Coral Bouncy Dream Blush, MAC Ripe for Love, Benefit Rockateur

DSCN0966

The bronzer I used from the Coastal Scents 48 Double Stack Palette

Face

1) I first used the MAC Prep + Prime Skin Base Visage as a base (I love how it reduces the redness on my face)
2) I then used the Bobbi Brown BB cream  (in Extra Light) to get medium coverage, but with a natural finish
3) I used my Catrice Concealer to cover up my eyebags. The pink shade is a colour corrector, to brighten up the undereye area.
4) I buffed the MAC Mineralize Foundation Loose Powder (in Light) on the face, smoothing out the BB cream and setting the foundation
5) I used three kinds of blushes for my cheek. First I applied the Maybelline Candy Coral Dream Bouncy Blush (coral with peachy pink undertones) on the apples of my cheeks. I then used my MAC Ripe for Love powder blush (orange coral satin) just below that. Just below the hollows of my cheeks, I used the Benefit Rockateur (rose gold satin) to add some depth. Do note that that I applied all of this with a pretty light hand, so the blush is fairly light, but it
6) I then contoured my cheeks with the bronze shade in the Coastal Scents 42 Double Stack Palette for more depth, bringing the colour up to my temples, and shading along the jawline too
7) I dusted Hourglass Mood Light Ambient Lighting Powder (pale pink powder) all over the face to add a little more colour (I like to do this when I have a heavy foundation)
8) I then set everything with Guerlain Blanc de Perle Meteorites Compact (translucent setting powder)

DSCN0974

Lip products used.

Lips

For the first shoot, I used Urban Decay Glinda Super-Saturated High Gloss Lip Colour (it’s a beautiful brown nude with rosy undertones). I then layered MAC Pure Flattery Lip Glass (sheer peach gloss, this mostly lightens my lip colour).

For the second, I patted on two layers of Bobbi Brown Raspberry Pot Rogue (deep raspberry red) on my lips. I chose to use a stain, because it has a softereffect than a lipstick. I didn’t want it to look polished, but more like my lips had been stained from eating strawberries or something.

What do you think of the shoot? If you have any comments, especially advice for styling future shoots, leave them below!

– – –

Follow me!

Facebook
Instagram

This entry was posted in Looks, Photoshoots and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Golden Dawn

  1. Amria says:

    I love the close-up portrait most, you look like an angel *_*

  2. Jules says:

    So how about you look like a freaking beautiful fairy in the pictures with the white dress! You did so well on the makeup and styling as well. Good job!

Leave a Reply

