Makeup tip: Check your products on sale

Hey all, I’m posting this because in my poll, I’d been asked for more posts on makeup tips. (If you haven’t done the post please go ahead and fill it up! It’ll only take a few seconds.

IMG_7587

So in January I blogged about my haul from Benefit. I was excited about it, because I’d read so many good reviews about the I’m Glam… Therefore I am palette online (all the other products in the photo were my friend’s, who I was sharing the shipping costs with). The kit seemed really good value for money, as it is USD28. I am not the biggest fan of Benefit products because of how expensive the brand is, so I like these kinds of kits, which let me try and review plenty of these products while not wasting too much money at the same time on products I’m not going to finish. 

DSCN0278

The kit comes with the following:

  • A sample sized Benefit Girl Meets Pearl (pearly golden pink liquid illuminator)
  • Benefit Eyeshadow Palette in Pink Fancy (pale pink), Icy Lilac (silvery light mauve), Posh Amethyst (soft plum), Precious Pewter (steel gray)
  • Double-Ended Sponge Applicator – note that I don’t try these out
  • Benefit Glamming Face Powder with Brush (soft rose/ peachy pink sheen)
  • Sample size of Benefit A Little Bit BADgal Lash Mascara in black
  • Sample size of Benefit Lip Gloss in Life On The A List (peachy pink)
  • Makeup Lesson – like all Benefit kits, there’s a sheet that teaches you how to apply the products

Just note, the kit was first released for the 2011 holidays, and I bought this in 2014. I figured it might still be good if it had been sealed and shut.

When I first got the kit, I was most wary about the mascara, as it may have dried up in its tube without my realising it. Thankfully, it worked fine, though it’s definitely not the most amazing mascara in the world.

What was a problem was the lipgloss. Most of the Benefit products I own have a really distinct and strong scent, and most of the times, I love them, like Coralista’s fruit punch scent and Rockateur’s light floral. Not this lipgloss. I don’t know if it’s because it’s spoilt, or because it’s just like that. I flinched the second I opened the tube. Just note – scented products are more likely to go bad faster than non-scented ones.

The Girl Meets Pearl also seems a little off, which is why I haven’t used it very much. It feels like one sunscreen or something that you’ve just left in the tube for a while and it’s oxidized inside of the tube.

As for the eyeshadows and face powder… As with all Benefit products, they’re on the sheer side and quite fool-proof to use. Yes, they can be built up, but on my light skin they tend to look more like grey sparkle than anything else. Basically, Benefit is a brand that I would recommend for anyone starting out with makeup, and has a little bit of extra money to spend.

So yep, makeup tip! If there are any clearance sales happening, especially with limited edition products, check out when those products were initially launched to make sure you don’t end up getting something that’s gone bad. Especially if they are scented products.

=( I want my money back.

– – –

Follow me!

Facebook
Instagram

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Makeup tip: Check your products on sale

  1. Pat says:

    Aw, sad that you essentially got a dud. Benefit’s really too steeply priced and sometimes it doesn’t deliver. But I think the kits are the best value if one is just starting out with Benefit.

  2. Juvy says:

    There are expiry dates posted on all my benefit cosmetics purchases. I think they are good only for two years, if I recall correctly.

Leave a Reply

