Oriental Sunset (expanded version)

So I did this really beautiful look I titled ‘Oriental Sunset‘ about a month back, that ’til today remains one of my favourite looks. It was matched with this gorgeous kimono wrap I bought from STRYD and I’ve wanted to do a photoshoot with it since. The rest of the photos are up on my Facebook page, so do have a look there!

Thank you Tanlin Photography for not balking at the mention of a night shoot and for creating such beautiful photos.

Nat_01_edited Nat_06_edited Nat_11_edited

I wanted eyeshadows that were striking and vibrant, and of course, amazing falsies that wing out at the end. I never understood how falsies always look so bad in real life (they do, they’re always incredibly unnatural looking unless you get the wispier ones) but look so amazing in photographs.

Three kinds of blush for the cheeks – oh god, I love how there’s that gorgeous shimmer in the third photo.

I was trying to figure out for the longest time if I should do a red lip with this (with a bit of OCC Triptych patted on top for a molten gold shimmer), but a when discussing the concept with a friend she pointed out that it’d be too much. I went with OCC Authentic instead to subtly match the eyes.

What do you think of the makeup?

Makeup used: 

To get a flawless base, I started with MAC Prep + Prime Face Primer, and then used Bobbi Brown Long Wear Even Finish Foundation (Porcelain) on the face. I set it with Ellana Mineral Cosmetics Loose Foundation (Cafe Breve).

I primed my eyes with MAC Prep+Prime Eye Primer. I used the Sleek Sunset Palette for the gorgeousness of this makeup. I used a liquid liner for the eye, and Benefit They’re Real! mascara on my lashes after curling. Falsies were a cheap pair that I got off Daiso. I had a doll-like separated lashes, and then layered some thinner lashes on the outer third of the eye to create a wing-like effect. I filled in my lashes with the NYX Eyebrow pencil, starting in grey at the front of the lashes and blending it to black.

I used three different types of products on the cheeks; MAC Warm SoulBenefit Rockateur and contoured with Bobbi Brown Bronzing Powder in Chocolate.

For the lips I first used Korres Wild Rose Lip Butter to get a nice warm red tint, and then layered a very thin layer of OCC Authentic over.

– – –

Follow me!

Facebook
Instagram
YouTube

This entry was posted in Photoshoots and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Oriental Sunset (expanded version)

  1. mintymilky says:

    Great photos! 🙂

  2. Olivia says:

    Stunning pictures!!!

  3. Pingback: TGIF: I say “collab” a lot and let the cat out of the bag | Eye Have A Lot of Feelings

  4. Amria says:

    That first picture is amazing! You look like some model from an urban japanese magazine pictorial. 🙂

Leave a Reply

