Product rave: Happy Skin Second Skin Creme Silicon Free Foundation

This is the fabled Second Skin Créme Silicon Free Foundation from Happy Skin Cosmetics. It is also my new love. 

My friend Valeri recently moved from the Philippines to Singapore, and before she did, I begged her to pick up some stuff for me from Happy Skin. I’ve been hearing such amazing things about this brand from various bloggers and I couldn’t wait to get my hands on it.

DSCN1852

Level up your look every single day. With Happy Skin Second Skin Crème, you get to channel a better version of yourself—the glowing, healthy, supple kind. This is the double-letter cream that has a skin-improving, color-adjusting tinge that mimics your actual making you look like yourself, only waaay better. It instantly lends the skin a natural veil that smoothens the surface and a soft-focus powder that diffuses light and minimizes the appearance of pores. Plus, it improves skin quality with continued use. Wear it every day, all-day—at the beach, to the gym, on a date… ‘

This silicone free foundation does not clog pores and is infused with world-famous Japanese Cherry Blossom extract and hyaluronic acid to plump up & smooth out skin. It has a lightweight formula that starts with a silky cream, and then dries into a beautiful, ultra-fine powder finish. It also provides protection with its healthy levels of SPF 20 PA++. Suitable for all skin types including very sensitive skin. It’s amazingly gentle on the skin and can be removed with just a simple facial wash.’

The SS creme currently only comes in two shades, a light (01 Soft Beige) and medium colour (02 Natural Beige). I’m using the lighter shade here, which is the perfect shade for my skin. 

Packaging

DSCN1855

It’s a squeeze tube with a fairly fine nozzle, which is great if you’re prone to oversqueezing products. A little of this goes a long way! It took me a little while to figure out exactly how much (or little) was needed, and I had the tendency to overapply the first couple of times I wore this.

DSCN1869 DSCN1871

Coverage

Here’s where I put up gross barefaced selfies. D= I don’t understand why my skin has been so wrecked this year! There’s a lot of redness and bumps, despite my changing up my skincare routine and making sure that my skin is right.

DSCN1837 DSCN1839

After wearing Second Skin Creme

DSCN1845 DSCN1851

In the photo below, I had applied the Second Skin Creme and then buffed Jane Iredale Amazing Base Loose Mineral Powder Foundation on top to get a flawless finish.

DSCN1829

As you can see, it’s not the heaviest form of coverage, but it’s perfectly adequate as a base, and you can always dust tinted powder on top if you’re left unsatisfied. For the last few days though, I’ve been wearing it without the tinted powder.

Longevity 

Having loose powder also helped a lot in absorbing oil. When I wore it on its own, my face does have a tendency to get rather oily, so if you have oily skin and live in a hot humid climate like me, do pat on your favourite mattifying powder.

I have to say, I’ve been wearing this consistently since I’ve gotten it, and it’s definitely my favourite foundation at the moment. It’s extremely lightweight on the skin, and I swear my skin always looks like it’s cleared up some after I take it off each time.

Also, this really really lasts on the skin. It was blazing hot yesterday, and I was running around Orchard (I went from Cineleisure to Lido if anyone is interested. No not in the underground pass but in the heat.) in order to find a cinema that was showing X-Men. My makeup was fine, and lasted for about eight hours before I took it off. And no, it didn’t get gross and streaky. Nor were there more pimples than there were before.

The only complaints I have about this product is 1) The lack of shades which means that I can’t share my joy over this product with everyone and 2)  This isn’t available outside of the Philippines, so it’s going to be hard for me to repurchase.

Thank you Happy Skin, you have one happy customer. ❤

tl;dr
Cost: php 1 199, SGD34.18, USD 27
Does it work: It gives light to light-medium coverage on the skin that lasts for hours. Oh, and it doesn’t aggravate my acne and I swear my skin looks a little clearer each time I remove it.
Would I recommend it: Yes. It may seem a little pricey, especially for an Asian product, but hell, is it worth the money. ❤

– – –

Follow me!

Facebook
Instagram
YouTube

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Product rave: Happy Skin Second Skin Creme Silicon Free Foundation

  1. Pat says:

    OMG I envy you! I have yet to try any product from that brand (and I’m from the Philippines!). This is at the top of my wishlist, along with the new brow product (recently released) and of course the lippies.

  2. Great review! I am also hooked with this product. I totally agree regarding the longevity and lightweight feel. 😀 Check my review if you want: http://janinestaana.blogspot.com/ much love ❤

  3. abby says:

    Hey nat? Abby (from… People?) here. Haha i saw on insta that you’ve tried the ZZ Cream too. can I ask what’s the difference between the 2 products for you? Thinking of getting a BB cream or foundation.

    • natziwang says:

      Hey Abby! The ZZ cream is a cream formula that doesn’t set into a powder. It also has salicylic acid that treats acne and inflammation on the face so it’s good if you struggle with acne. The SS Creme formula comes out as a liquid and dries into a powder so if you don’t apply right the powderiness becomes a bit apparent once dry. It has hyaluronic acid, which has anti-aging benefits. I’d recommend the ZZ Cream for younger skin! You have to ship it in from the Philippines though, so I think Laneige’s BB Cushion would be a better fit for you. try #33 or #27, which should be in your shade.

      • abby says:

        Thanks Nat! Appreciate all the details(: The BB cushion is pricey though. But I’ll go check it out:D thanks for the help!

Leave a Reply

