Airport Haul

I’ve been in Sarawak for the last eight days or so. Somehow, even when in the rural undeveloped parts of Malaysia (sorry I’m a city girl, Sarawak was such a surreal experience for me), I’ve found time to shop for makeup. There was actually a mall with a reasonably stocked Sephora, a MAC bar, a Shu Uemura bar and others.

Let me just say that I first entered Terminal 2 of Changi airport on the lookout for a vampy lipstick. I’ve been talking about the search for one for a while now, but alas, did not have any luck at the duty free shops in Changi airport. I don’t understand why it’s so difficult. I want a beautiful creamy deep purple. Most colours I’ve seen so far have either too much red or brown in them, and while I have OCC Black Dahlia lip tar looks too much like a stain, and is just not the rich cream I’m looking for.

But first, here’s what I got when I first left Singapore:

DSCN3055

Laneige 6-in-1 BB Cushion SPF 50+ PA+++

I’ve wanted a BB Cushion since I saw Michelle Phan use one in one of her makeup videos. I was really impressed at how handy it was, and the coverage of the BB cushion seemed fantastic. When I saw the Laneige BB Cushion at the airport, I stood around and Googled for the longest time, saw the satisfactory reviews and proceeded to buy it.

I have been using this foundation for the last week (I haven’t touched my Happy Skin SS Creme once I swear) and I am in love. Expect a review with all the many synonyms for ‘great’ and ‘wonderful’ up soon.

DSCN3056

As you can see, the compact is fairly thick. This would be my one gripe about it, because it makes it harder to carry around for touch ups. It does come with a refill and another sponge.

It’s a creme foundation that you can either pat on or smooth on the face with the sponge. Also, these sponges aren’t like the usual makeup sponges that absorb a ton of product. These are meant to push the product on the skin.

DSCN3057 DSCN3058

Revlon Elusive Matte Balm

I didn’t intend to buy Elusive at first, but wanted Sultry as I heard the shade (a brownish pink) was quite unique. Unfortunately, they didn’t have it in stock. Elusive This is a matte medium pink colour that is the prettiest loveliest thing. It’s a brighter pink than MAC Mehr, but the two are somewhat similar.

 DSCN3062

When in Sarawak, I went by Sephora, and found the beauty that is the Sephora Cream Lip Stain in Dark Berry. I thought I had finally found the one. Unfortunately, it is also out stock, and they’ve not had shipment in months (just like Singapore and KL. It’s like Sephora is just not selling this overseas anymore). You don’t know how much I cried when I realised that the perfect lip colour was on my hand, but I couldn’t buy it.

10647234_10152744316554648_2856128478767421679_n

The grey purple is MAC Cyber, the wine is MAC Diva, and the deep perfect purple is Sephora Lip Cream Stain in Dark Berry

Also, the MAC The Matte Lip Collection http://www.temptalia.com/mac-matte-lip-collection-october-2014 has just been launched. I chanced upon when I passed by the one and only MAC store in the city. I was just walking by with my friends, saw the promotional ad, caught sight of a dark purple lipstick and was in the store before my friends had even realised I had walked away. That dark purple lipstick is MAC Living Legend, a deep matte plum colour. It’s not as beautiful as the Sephora Cream Lip Stain, but it’ll do for now.

DSCN3060

Left is MAC Living Legend, right is MAC ‘O’

Finally, I picked up MAC ‘O’ Lipstick as I came back to Singapore, swinging by the MAC store at the airport. It just looks so beautiful in the tube, and applies as a gorgeous plummy colour on my lips. This is a lipstick that is perfect for evenings, but knowing me, I’ll wear it all the time anyways. It’s such a dressy sophisticated looking colour.

DSCN3063

From top to bottom: MAC ‘O’, MAC Living Legend, Revlon Elusive Matte Balm

That’s about it for now! Stay tuned for the reviews. =D Have you purchased anything recently?

– – –

Follow me!

Facebook
Instagram
YouTube

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Airport Haul

  1. sharanaway says:

    can’t wait for reviews!

Leave a Reply

