Smoked Purple

DSCN3156

It’s funny how a thunder and lightning immediately inspires me to do a smoky eye.

Today I reached for my Laura Mercier Artist’s Eye Palette 2013 Holiday Edition, decked out in beautiful greys and plums. Laura Mercier Artist's Palette for Eyes (dingy)

This photo was taken when it was all still shiny and new. Gosh. While I won’t go so far as to say that it’s been well loved, it certainly isn’t as pristine anymore these days.

My eyeshadow application today wasn’t very pristine. It was more like a muddied mess really, so you can’t really tell the different colours apart. I do like the final effect though, this hazy purple grey that was around the eyes.

Lipstick was a little confusing today. I started with a pink lipstick – Revlon Elusive Matte Balm – but it looked so incongruous with the rest of my makeup. I wiped it off, but there was still some of the pink left. I then layered MAC ‘O’ Lipstick over it, which got the plummy-pink colour you see in the photograph.

DSCN3181 copy

Makeup used

Eyes
1) I used Laura Mercier Bamboo, a satin grey taupe all over the eye
2) I then dusted Laura Mercier Plum Smoke on top, a matte grey purple
3) I used a pencil brush and applied Laura Mercier Kir Royal, a deeper matte cool purple close to the lashline. I also applied this to the lower lashline.
4) I used Laura Mercier Violet Ink, a matte deep warm purple on the lashline with an angled brush, and blended that out. I used this for the lower lashline too.
5) I used MAC Dazzlelight, a pearlescent beige on the inner third of my eye to highlight it
6) I used Painted Earth SuperCurl mascara on my upper lashes for definition, and skipped the eyeliner

Face
1) I used the Laneige BB Cushion all over the face
2) I then applied MAC Warm Soul (beige bronze with gold pearl) on the cheeks

Lips
1) As I said before, I applied Revlon Elusive, a matte pink and decided it wasn’t  going to work. I wiped it off with tissue, but as with all mattes, it kinda clings on the lips
2) I then applied MAC ‘O’, a plummy gold colour on the lips, and so looks slightly pinker than usual

DSCN3173 copy

Macro mode again, so you can see every detail.

Also, I have concluded that my camera is magical. You hear me? Magical. It captures every sweat drop, every blemish I never knew existed.

Urgh.

Also sure, there’s a ‘blur’ mode, that makes everything all lovely and glowy but I’m the kind of person who likes my photographs to be fairly clear.

DSCN3155

All that unnatural glow. So pretty, but so… unnatural.

Do you struggle with this too? Apart from photoshopping every little blemish off your skin, do you have any tips on how to deal with this? I’m pretty sure people in real life don’t notice every bead of sweat or every white head on my skin. Share in the comments with how you deal with hypersensitive cameras!

– – –

Follow me!

Facebook
Instagram
YouTube

This entry was posted in Looks and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Smoked Purple

  1. Erika says:

    What camera are you using? Maybe you could try adjusting the focus during macro mode so your intended focus appears extremely sharp while the rest of the photo gets slightly blurred? 🙂

    P.S. I love your beret!

    • natziwang says:

      The problem is that it focuses on my face (which it should) but *too* intensely. Does that make sense? Slowly figuring how to photoshop all the things away.

      • Erika says:

        Yeah, I think I kind of get you. But with my camera, I can move the “focus square” to where I want the focus to be during manual focus and macro mode, and that would slightly blur the rest of the image not within the square. Maybe you can do that, too? 🙂

        If you can’t, the blur tool on Photoshop will work out things just fine! Just make sure to adjust the blur intensity so it looks just right.

Leave a Reply

