First Date Makeup (and a quick review for Painted Earth Bronze Complete Face palette)

DSCN3740

Note: As with my lecturery posts, there are many words ahead.

So as I mentioned in my Facebook post for “A Beginner’s Guide to Makeup“, I’ve joined a Makeup and Design afterschool activity. I’m one of the student trainers, and the members are mostly girls with little to no experience with makeup. We’ve been doing basic lectures and ‘how-to’ sessions, but it’s really difficult to sum all these things up in a lecture with Powerpoint. The success to YouTube makeup bloggers arise from how interactive they are, and that there are links and references to product reviews embedded either in the video or in the comments. I just don’t feel like I can explain makeup adequately enough in a lecture.

One of the tutorials the trainers are talking about teaching in class is ‘Date Makeup’, so I thought, why not do a post about it. I talked about corporate makeup in my last post, where I feel it’s really about brightening the features and  basically putting your best face forward. Date makeup follows the same concept – especially when it’s a first date, you just want to look like yourself, but better. So conceal, brighten, but I feel that date makeup has more room for experimentation with colours. I’d avoid wearing lots of pinks in the workplace for instance, because I feel that’s a little saccharine and isn’t the image I’d want to present myself as, and stick to neutrals and plums. Pinks and peaches (yes girly colours, urgh female stereotypes boo but really) just feel more appropriate for dates.  And with first date makeup, you’d really want to look like yourself – first impressions are important. The experimentation can come later when your partner’s gotten more comfortable with your makeup habits.

DSCN3754 copy

So this is first date makeup, courtesy of the Painted Earth Complete Face Palette in Bronze. I had a haul from Painted Earth when I was in the US last summer; it is a fantastic brand, and I absolutely love this palette. As mentioned above, I’ve chosen to go with pinks, and on the eyes, light cooler-toned browns.

DSCN3719

The Complete Face Palette comes with an eyeliner, three eyeshadows, a reddish brown brush, a ‘blush glow’ which I assume is the lovely pinky gold shade, and a face powder. I’ve never understood why the face powder is there, because it’s not translucent and it won’t match a lot of skin tones.

The eyeshadows though, are, strangely enough for brown eyeshadows, leaning to the cooler side (which I love) and coordinate beautifully. They are also richly pigmented. I’m always a little wary of the lightest shade though, because of how cool-toned it is. It mixes well enough with the other two eyeshadows on my skin tone, but I think it might end up looking a little ashy on warmer skins.

The pink blush is probably my favourite blush of all time – it’s a warm pink with a lovely golden glow and looks so beautiful on the skin. The other blush is a little scary though. It’s a little dry, so you need a slightly scratchier blush to pick up the pigment, but the powder itself is extremely pigmented. Use this with a fluffy brush and a very light hand. I tend to use it as a contour colour because of how deep the colour is.

The brown eye pencil is a full-sized Painted Earth Glitter Pencil in Brown Spark. I’ll be honest, this isn’t my favourite eye pencil. It’s dry and tugs at my lids as I apply it, probably because of the glitter in the lid, but it’s not

For USD37.50 though, this is a palette with amazing value, and is a must-have for those starting out with makeup.

Makeup Used: 

Eyes
1) I applied the middle brown shade on my lid
2) I used the pinky white shade on the inner third of the eye
3) I then used the dark brown shade in the outer V and crease to contour the eye
4) I used Painted Earth Glitter Pencil in Brown Spark on the outer lashline
5) I then used Bobbi Brown Twilight Night Shimmer Ink, a grey-purple gel to darken the upper lashline
6) I used the Painted Earth SuperCurl Mascara on the upper lashline

Face
1) I used the Jane Iredale Smooth Affair Pressed Base Foundation on the face, buffing it in with a Kabuki brush
2) I then used the pink blush on the apples of my cheeks
3) I then applied the darker blush as a contour colour
4) I also applied The Body Shop Concealer Stick under the eyes (assignments are getting to me) 

Lips
1) I used Happy Skin’s Summer Fling Shut Up & Kiss Me Lippie, a bright pink coral shade
2) I applied Painted Earth Mauve Baby Hint of Mint Lip Gloss on the center of the lips

Also, I cannot adequately express how deliriously happy I am that my skin is clear enough that the I only needed a pressed powder for today’s base. Given that I’ve been covering everything with huge amounts of liquid and cream formulas since February, this is amazing.

DSCN3733 copyThis photo just shows off how bad my eye bags are. Urgh. It’s almost the weekend though, hooray!

What kind of makeup do you usually wear for dates? Leave suggestions in the comments below!

 – –

Follow me!

Facebook
Instagram
YouTube

This entry was posted in Looks, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to First Date Makeup (and a quick review for Painted Earth Bronze Complete Face palette)

  1. Arielle Tan says:

    Gorgeous, I love the look! ❤

Leave a Reply

