Geisha Inspired

DSCN3844

Yes, being all Orientalist and reappropriating cultures that are not mine. But I was wearing a Zara kimono jacket I’d bought off Carousell and wanted something Japanese inspired.

6f10afa9dda2ef5affe66ea6e7b1c2f2

Traditional geisha makeup. It’s quite distinctive for its white face, and has a beautiful ruby red lip. Image from here.

I was also looking at various tutorials and modern takes on the makeup. Most people skip the white foundation but do take a paler than pale standard foundation, and skip the contouring to highlight the roundness of the cheeks.

My attempt at the Korean ombre lip trend was a bit of a fail too. It fits very nicely with the geisha trend of painting smaller lips too.

Here are some of the modern tutorials I looked at: 3ad7e47924f85e0985ad7da69dea9077

Image from here

tumblr_m527hzrkef1qj816fo1_1280

Image from here

DSCN3838

And here’s my take on it. I decided to keep the red eyeshadow on the lower lashline.

Makeup used:

Eyes
1) I used MAC Bare Study Paint Pot (creamy beige with gold pearl) as a base on the eye
2) I applied Urban Decay Blackout (matte black eyeshadow) on the upper lashline with a pencil brush
3) I used the L’Oreal Carbon Gloss Super Liner (glossy black liquid liner) on the upper lashline, flicking it outward slightly
4) I took a matte red eyeshadow from the Coastal Scents Matte Eyeshadow 42 Double Stack Palette on the lower lashline
5) I then used a matte white eyeshadow from the same palette on the inner third of the eye, and the browbone
6) I used the MAC Feline Kohl Liner (matte white eye kohl) on the lower lashline
7) I used the Benefit They’re Real mascara on the upper lashes

Face
1) I used the Laneige BB Cushion all over the face for a beautiful lit-from-within glow
2) I then used Benefit High Beam (liquid highlighter for pink undertones) highlighter on the cheekbones
3) I then set everything with Hourglass Diffused Light Ambient Lighting Powder to add to that glow

Lips
1) I used the Revlon True Red Colorburst Lipstick (neutra red creamy lipstick) on the lips

– – –

Follow me!

Facebook
Instagram
YouTube

This entry was posted in Looks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Geisha Inspired

  1. Maria B says:

    This is perfect for a Geisha look! And it’s very flattering on you ^_^ I will try this out soon! Great idea, xx

  2. Olivia says:

    Ok, that looks AWESOME on you. And I think you did a great job with the lips!

  3. Just Jona says:

    Aww, love what you did with the eyes! I saw a geisha pic this week and was actually thinking of doing something similar. You beat me to it! 😀

  4. Rae says:

    Probably my favorite look so far! I’m inspired. I want to do this with a fuchsia magenta color (etude house play 101 pencil #19)

  5. Juvy says:

    You’re so cute! I love the red eyeshadow and how it shaped your eyes. 🙂

  6. Pingback: Essence Longlasting Matte Lipglosses review and swatches | Cat Eyes Red Lips

Leave a Reply

