14 Favourites from 2014

Processed with VSCOcam

Because better late than never right?

Finally sat down to do this. I’ve been a terrible procrastinator in the last week, and it is entirely my fault. =( Yes, I’ve been reluctant to do my usual FOTD posts, but that’s because I’d left my camera at home and don’t like the way my phone camera captures my makeup, especially when it’s as subtle as silver eyeliner. On the other hand, I’ve been spending ridiculous amounts of time on this new game on the phone: Big Hero 6 Bot Fight. I loved the movie, and it is quite an awesome game, Bejeweled and Pokémon rolled into one.

 But yes, hopefully more posts on the way. This semester is going to be rough, taking a lot of modules, and since writing extensively researched makeup posts is therapeutic when I am stressed about writing extensively researched academic essays, I hope to finish up my Beginner Basics series within the next three months. And have all the items below reviewed.

But yes! My 14 favourites from 2014. As always, I try to steer away from Limited Edition items, but it wasn’t too hard this time. These are the items that (while not necessarily discovered in 2014) loved and used extensively.

2014 was the year I was discovering foundations. I bought a bunch of things from Jane Iredale, Ellena Mineral Cosmetics and Happy Skin, trying to find something that covered my acne and inflame it. I also spent a lot of time trying to figure out what to do with my skin. (You can read my dealings with adult acne here.) In the last few months of the year, I also started experimenting with mascara. I’d stuck to my Benefit They’re Real mascara for the last year, and didn’t think I’d switch over to anything. Gosh, I should have been bolder earlier.

In no particular order: 

FOUNDATION

DSCN4085 copy

Happy Skin Zit Zapper Second Skin Cream Foundation

I’ve rarely touched any other foundation since obtaining this in November. It only comes in one shade, and while I’m extremely skeptical about one-shade-fits-all products, it fits my skin tone fine. (Haven’t tried it on other people’s skin yet, so I don’t know what to think about the multi-shade claim.) I was deliberating to put this or the Happy Skin Second Skin Crème Foundation, which was my favourite go-to foundation before I got hold of the ZZ Cream. (Review for the SS Crème here.) Decided to go with the ZZ Cream in the end, because apart from the acne busting properties (my skin really does feel less inflamed after putting this on and I’m pretty sure my pimples dry up with it), the crème formula tends to be a lot more unforgiving once it dries up and you didn’t blend properly it shows. No such problem with the cream formula.

 Laneige 6-in-1 BB Cushion

I have written extensively about how much I love this product when I reviewed it, so do check that out here. Quick ramblings though: I love how it comes with a variety of shades unlike most Korean products so chances are, you can find one in yours. It has silicon though, so be wary if you’re allergic or have sensitive skin.

DSCN4094 copy

From left to right: MAC Blacktrack, L’Oreal Carbon Gloss Liquid Liner in Carbon Black, Urban Decay Perversion Mascara and Tarte lights, camera, lashes mascara

EYELINER

MAC Blacktrack Fluidline

This little guy has made it on the list for the second time. A matte black gel liner that lasts and lasts. It’s also lasting me a good long time too, has yet to dry out and there’s still plenty of product, so definitely worth the pricetag. See the review here.

L’Oreal Super Liner Carbon Gloss in Carbon Black

I usually prefer to use either a pencil or a gel liner, as I have a tendency to muss up my liquid liners. I also dislike most of the brushes they come with (NYX I’m looking at you) as they’re usually thin and so difficult to control. And liquid liners are naturally unforgiving. Also they smear like crazy if you blink by accident.

I don’t have that problem anymore with this beauty. The brush is long but firm so it doesn’t bend all over the place when applying it. The formula also dries faster than the other brands I’ve tried, so I don’t have to worry about accidentally blinking. Once on it just doesn’t smudge and lasts me the day. Unfortunately, the Carbon Gloss line has been discontinued. =( I’ll probably try the Super Liner range once this runs out, but I’ve read this it doesn’t quite match up.

MASCARA

Urban Decay Perversion

I got a sample size of this mascara from the Urban Decay Naked on the Run palette. Let me just say, I typically reach for a volumizing over a lengthening mascara, any day. It’s probably a byproduct of seeing women with amazingly full lashes on TV, but really, that’s a result of falsies than anything else. This still hasn’t stopped me from dreaming that I’ll get a fuller lashline with mascara alone. So Perversion doesn’t give me the thicker lashes that Benefit’s They’re Real! does, but it still means that I have longer, and yes, curlier lashes that just look fabulous.

Tarte lights, camera lashes 4-in 1 mascara

So I thought I was in love with UD’s Perversion mascara. This one was an impulse buy, I swiped a travel-sized version of this at Sephora. This gives me bombshell type lashes that still somehow look natural. 

EYESHADOWS

Urban Decay Naked 3 palette

DSCN4086 copy DSCN4087 copy

The loveliness of these shades still take my breath away a little every time I open up this palette. Finally, pink eyeshadows that aren’t overly saccharine sweet. Also, I love the purple-toned brown shades.

Special mention to Sleek i Divine in Sunset palette. For some bizarre reason, I didn’t think of it until I was almost done with the post and had all my photographs taken already. This palette has the loveliest shades, and has amazing pigmentation. The site’s photographs are incredibly unflattering and don’t really capture the glory of the colours, so have a look at Temptalia’s review instead. It’s a wonderful palette, but I do wish they threw in a couple of matte shades to balance out the crazy shimmer in all of these. 

CHEEK

MAC Soft and Gentle

DSCN4089 copy

An old favourite. This remains my favourite highlighter until today; so soft and subtle at first application, but builds up to something fierce. Review here.

LIPS

2014 was also the year I discovered the magic of pencil lippies. These are so convenient, and come in such great pigmented and moisturizing formulas. 

Happy Skin Shut Up and Kiss Me Moisturizing Lippies

DSCN4090 copy

Ignore the Revlon Matte Balm sitting there awkwardly. Although it is quite an awesome product too, this is in Elusive.

I fell in love with the name of the product alone. The colours also come in the cutest names like ‘My First Time’ and ‘Honeymoon Glow’. I own this in ‘Girls Night Out’ (deep violet, not berry, it has more blue-tones than red) and ‘Summer Crush’ (a pretty coral pink). These are moisturizing, pigmented and long lasting.

20150117_203453 copy

OCC Psycho

This was my go-to red lip for the year. The orange-red tones means that it looks bright and cheery (and not gothic, which red lips tend to make me look) and are easily worn in the day. The matteness of it keeps it looking classy, and it remains a suitable colour for night. Review here. 

TOOLS

DSCN4093 copy

Tarte picture perfect eyelash curler

I got this bejeweled piece from a limited edition product that came with mascara and the eyelash curler. I previously owned this cheap eyelash curler that I had bought from the supermarket, which had a tendency of pinching the my lids and the curls I got from it never lasted. I used to think that curling my eyelashes was an overrated thing, and relied on mascaras like Benefit They’re Real to give me a curl. I will say that this is ergonomically designed eyelash curler hasn’t pinched my lids once, and I now curl my lashes religiously every morning.

IMG_20141227_131607

SKINCARE

DSCN4091 copy

Differin

Raved about this extensively in my post on adult acne. Basically, I need this to keep my face nice and clear.

Sephora Orange Blossom Body Lotion

This is a house brand product, and for some bizarre reason, I can’t find a listing for it on the Sephora site. It’s real, I swear! I have photos. D= Anyway, orange blossom isn’t a scent you commonly find in Singapore – I’m more likely to run into rose, or jasmine, and I fell in love with the scent at first whiff.

What were your favourites for 2014? Recommend me things to try! I definitely want to give Tarte’s Cheek Stains and Too Faced Melted Lipsticks a go in 2015.

– – –

Follow me!

Facebook
Instagram
YouTube

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 14 Favourites from 2014

  1. sharanaway says:

    Ive been eyeing the tarte stains and too faced lipsticks too!

  2. Olivia says:

    You’ll love the Too Face Melted Lipsticks, I have Melted Fig and it is so lightweight and comfortable that I’ve forgotten i’m wearing a lip color and accidentally applied chapstick over it 😛

  3. Juvy says:

    You convinced me in buying the Laneige 6-in-1 BB Cushion, and I am really happy with it. I also want to try the ZZ cream, maybe this year.

  4. Brad says:

    Hi did differin cause you to purge initially? If so, how long did it take to get over that stage and how did you hide it all

Leave a Reply

