An Attempted Orange Lip

DSCN4329

Today was one of the days where photographs just didn’t turn out very well. Hair is frizzy and most photos are blurry so the ones I picked out that were clear have bizarre facial expressions.

Key word being ‘attempted’. I don’t know what it is about my lips, they’re naturally a rosy red colour, which means that any red-orange lipstick tends to pull more red than orange on me. =( Do you face the same problem?

So I always attempt to go for more yell0w-based rather than red-based oranges in a (usually futile) attempt to get a glistening orange shade on my lips. More often than not, it doesn’t work. I guess the obvious solution is to place foundation or concealer on my lips to get rid of the redness of my lips, but I have this bizarre thing about not liking to do that. I don’t know, I’m okay with piling lipstick on but the thought of consuming my foundation freaks me out.

So here I kept layering lip colour after lip colour but it didn’t work. =( I guess it’s an okay colour though not the one I initially wanted. 

DSCN4341

Makeup Used:

Lips (I started with lips first)
1) I used Maybelline Electric Orange (yellow-orange lipstick) first. It pulled red.
2) I then used OCC Androgyne (yellow-orange lip glossy lip tar) on top. It looked good, but after I blotted my lips, it pulled red again.
3) I mixed OCC Triptych in (metallic jewellery gold) to lighten everything. It does, but you still see the redness underneath)

Face
1) I used the Laneige BB Cushion as my base
2) For my cheeks, I used Ellana Mineral Cosmetics Lip and Cheek Cream Colour in Illusion, a beautiful peachy shade with subtle gold shimmer. The gold gives my cheeks a lovely glow, without having to add on a highlighter to it.

Eyes
1) Really simple today, just Tarte lights, camera, lashes mascara on my lashes.

– – –

Follow me!

Facebook
Instagram
YouTube

This entry was posted in Looks and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to An Attempted Orange Lip

  1. Dorkchops says:

    It still looks great on you! 🙂

  2. you nailed it. the colour is beautiful against your skin 🙂

    http://www.artbecomesyou.com

  3. Olivia says:

    Your skin looks gorgeous!! Also maybe instead of using a concealer or foundation on your lips, you could try a matte nude lipstick as a base? Idk, maybe it’ll help 🙂

Leave a Reply

