Hello, Little Girl

Title taken from the song from Into The Woods. Click here for Johnny Depp’s rendition.

1517454_363306833852909_8808985920338319103_n

A couple of weeks back, I got a message from my Model Mayhem account, from a lady, telling me that her photographer husband was looking for a model for a Little Red Riding Hood shoot. I usually don’t respond to random messages but ‘Little Red Riding Hood’ hooked me (as all fairytaleesque shoots do/will) and gave her my email.

This is only the second time I’ve been to a shoot where the photographer had been able to get hold of an assistant, and gosh, did it make a difference to have a third pair of eyes. Also Deleese was wonderful, and came so prepared with a cooler pack of water, Coke and grapes, and insect repellent. I thought I’d just slip back into my flip flops then wash them afterward but I didn’t have to do that, because she also came with a towel to wipe my dirty feet on. When I become a mother I hope I will only be half as prepared.

And there’s also the fact that she sewed the hood and cape. While she had a broken arm. Which is just amazing.

The photographer (Keith) was also as warm and friendly, and talked about the whole photography process throughout (finally learnt why people do vignettes for their photos).

Can I also say that it’s so great to be driven to the shoot location? I’d earlier planned to take a bus and then walk up to the park, but it turns out that you’d have to go up a seriously steep incline to get up there. I probably would have sweated off half my makeup if I did that, not to mention the seriously odd looks I’d have gotten from passing joggers.

The location really was worth it though, it did look like something from a fairytale.

20150125_080331

10256885_363308077186118_8672991659824721189_n

For more photographs, see my FB page.

Dress: Theory of Seven Owlet Dress
Cape: Satin, hand sewn by Deleese Allen

Makeup

Eyes: Shishido eyeliner pencil (chocolate brown pencil smudged in crease), Painted Earth Bronze Complete Face Palette medium brown colour + dark brown colour, MAC Dazzlelight (highlight on brow bones), Estee Lauder black pencil smudged in upper lashline, falsies, tarte lights, camera, lashes mascara (applied on bare lashes, applied again after falsies

Face: Bobbi Brown Long Wear Even Finish foundation in #2 Sand, Catrice Cosmetics All Roound Concealer, Maybelline Dream Bouncy Blush in Peach Satin (cheeks), Ellana Mineral Cosmetics in Diva (contour), Benefit High Beam (highlight), Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Mood Light (all over face powder)

Lips: Revlon Lip Butter in Pink Truffle

– – –

Follow me!

Facebook
Instagram
YouTube

This entry was posted in Photoshoots and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hello, Little Girl

  1. Maria B says:

    OMG these pictures turned out amazing, great poses Nat! Xx

  2. Juvy says:

    Love how beautiful the photos are! You are really fit to be Little Red Riding Hood with that awesome red hood!

Leave a Reply

