Failing at Avoiding Goth

DSC00183 copy

DSC00175 copy

I bought this Sephora Lip Cream last year but I think I’ve only ever used it once. It’s tagged as “07”, Dark Berry. It’s supposed to be a ‘satin blackberry wine’ but I think it pulls a lot darker on me (it’s even darker than OCC Black Dahlia!)

So yeah, I started off knowing that I wanted to use this beautiful but unfortunately, rarely used shade. Unfortunately, the big reason why I’ve always avoided this shade is because it always feels waaay too dressy for class. And I’ll probably end up looking like Morticia Adams.

So tips to avoid the goth look (take it with a pinch of salt because it feels like it didn’t really work, but I think it’s the lip color, it would probably work with other shades like MAC Hang-Up)

  1. Go for a dewy, not matte finish for your foundation. I used a cream rather than powder foundation.
  2. Keep the eyes light. Lighter eyeshadow shades, not too much eyeliner (in fact try avoiding using eyeliner at the lower lash line if you can)
  3. Highlight your face to keep it from looking powdered or ‘dead’ looking. I highlighted my cheekbones.
  4. To avoid the drag queen look, try a brown based blush rather than anything too plummy. Or go with a very light dusting of pink.
  5. Try putting a sparkly gloss on the lips, instead of keeping it matte.

Oh yes. How did I get my hair like this? I was blowdrying my fringe upside down (you see how I’m really bad at this hair stuff) and when I flipped it back, it ended up all strange and floppy-like. I actually kinda like it, would be cool for a shoot. And my brown hair is finally showing up in photographs! 

Makeup Used:

Eyes
1) MAC Groundwork Paint Pot (all over lid)
2) Urban Decay Broken and Urban Decay Bewitched mixed together (outer v of eye)
3) L’Oréal Carbon Gloss Super Liner
4) Urban Decay Perversion mascara

Face
1) Happy Skin ZZ Cream Foundation
2) MAC Warm Soul (cheeks)
3) MAC Soft and Gentle (cheekbone)

Lips
1) Sephora Dark Berry Cream Lip Stain
2) Bobbi Brown Firefly High Shimmer Lip Gloss

DSC00147

To complete the look, here’s a wilting Valentine’s Day rose for you.

– – –

Follow me!

Facebook
Instagram
YouTube

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Failing at Avoiding Goth

  1. atkokosplace says:

    Great tips. I like the lip color. I don’t have anything that dark but if I did, I’d rock it! Awesome post! 🙂

  2. Juvy says:

    I love the look! I think you can rock this like the korean gradient lips so that it won’t be too over the top for your class. 🙂

  3. Rae says:

    I like that you too time to dress your fringe like that.

  4. Rae says:

    It added to the whole look

  5. Hi Natzi,
    Anything to avoid the goth look is great! It worked! Thank you for a great post.

    We at Featherstroke are always interested in a little extra glam.

Leave a Reply

