The Neglected Series: Part 1

Part 2 | Part 3 | Part 4 |

‘The Neglected Series’  is where I will pull out rarely-used makeup from the dusty corners of my collection. It’s partly an exercise and challenge for my creativity, since I realise I haven’t been too creative with my colour palette lately and keep falling on the same old products. Digging through my stash is also a reminder for me to not buy new makeup since I already have plenty of things to play with. (Yes, this is what I’m trying to convince myself with.)

DSC01045 copy DSC01023 copy DSC01035 copy   DSC01049 copy

If you follow my Instagram account you’ll know that I uploaded a photo a few days back of several makeup products that I rarely use. I figured I’d step out of my comfort zone and make use of these products since I’d spent good money on them, and attempt to stave off all urges for another shopping trip. Because I really really really shouldn’t be buying new makeup (I’ve added so many things to my wishlist since the start of the year it’s not funny. But I’ll do a post on that another time.)

I ended up writing a lot of background on the products I used today so I think it’ll try to keep to that. Anything that convinces me that I already own many Beautiful Things and do not need any more.  

The eyeshadows and cheek colours I’m today’s look were entirely from the Urban Decay Naked on the Run Palette. I’ve actually stopped using my Naked on the Run palette since I broke it when moving back into school. The products were already fairly powdery (not UD’s usual dense buttery offerings) that had a lot of kickback when I used a brush, and it’s only gotten worse since I’ve fixed it with alcohol. It means that I usually have to clean up lots of loose powder that’d spilled around after using it.

Although I have to remember that this is a pretty solid palette. I love how I can get a very pretty neutral eye but when I layer the eyeshadows some more I’ll get a beautiful dramatic smoky eye. There’s something about the shades they chose for this palette, you’d think that brown eyeshadow end up looking all the same after a while but there’s a level of depth and sophistication to these shades so they end up looking very expensive. It’s the kind of difference a Guerlain or Chanel eyeshadow quad would have next to Maybelline. (I’m sorry if I sound like I’m waxing lyrics but I don’t know how else to say this.) The eyeshadows are the kind of shades I’ll use for a bohemian type look, when you want a natural looking kind of eye that’d still stand out, which is exactly what I went for in today’s look.

And then there’s MAC ‘O’. I applied this lipstick straight from the tube and have fallen in love with it all over again. ‘O’ was a bit of an impulse buy at the Duty Free, it just looked so beautiful and mysterious in the tube. But if you’ve had any experience with MAC’s frost lipsticks you’d know that your natural lip colour affects the end result greatly. There are a lot of complaints online on how this shade looks like a weird murky unflattering bronze with some purple gold sheen. On me, most probably because my lips are naturally very red, this brings out the plum undertones more, and I have a very subtle gold bronze frost that makes this shade look so classy and very difficult to dupe. For the first time, my camera has failed me because it’s not capturing the depth of the lipstick. D= It’s perfect for an evening look but then I’m not the kind of person to label a lipstick “For Special Occasions” and use them only then, I’ve paid good money for this. With the light hazey brown eye I think I made this fairly wearable for day.

DSC01041 copy

This photo probably best capture the way MAC ‘O’ look; even then I’m not really satisfied. One of those shades you just need to see in person I guess.

Makeup Used

Eyes
1) Urban Decay Fix (warm matte brown, all over lid)
2) Urban Decay Dare (warm taupe matte brown, outer third of eye)
3) Urban Decay Resist (warm golden brown taupe with metallic sheen, crease)
4) Urban Decay Dive (sparkly rosy copper, inner third of eye)
5) Urban Decay Stun (chocolate brown with gold micro glitter, upper and lower lash line)
6) Urban Decay 5050 (warm peach beige, brow bone)
7) Urban Decay Perversion Mascara

Brows
1) MAC Blacktrack Fluidline (matte black gel liner)

Face
1) Laura Mercier Secret Camouflage Concealer
2) Jane Iredale Amazing Base Loose Mineral Powder Foundation
3) Urban Decay 5050 (warm peach beige, cheekbones)
4) Urban Decay Naked on the Run Blush (matte cool pink with satin finish)
5) Urban Decay Naked on the Run Bronzer (warm yellow-toned brown with matte finish, contour face)
6) Guerlain UV Shield Pressed Powder (translucent powder, dusted over face)

Lips
1) MAC ‘O’ Lipstick (deep plum with bronze gold frost)

DSC01044 copy

– – –

Follow me!

Facebook
Instagram
YouTube

This entry was posted in Looks and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Neglected Series: Part 1

  1. Juvy says:

    I searched for the MAC O swatch and it looks really beautiful! The only frost lipstick I have from MAC is Who’s that Chick from Rihanna. MAC’s frost lipsticks are way better than any brand I’ve tried so far. 🙂

Leave a Reply

