The Neglected Series Part 4: Brown Smokey Eye

| Part 1 | Part 2 | Part 3 |

‘The Neglected Series’  is where I will pull out rarely-used makeup from the dusty corners of my collection. It’s partly an exercise and challenge for my creativity, since I realise I haven’t been too creative with my colour palette lately and keep falling on the same old products. Digging through my stash is also a reminder for me to not buy new makeup since I already have plenty of things to play with. (Yes, this is what I’m trying to convince myself with.)

DSC01147 copy DSC01172 copy DSC01161 copy

If you’d seen my Instagram post last night where I’d laid out my makeup for today’s look, you’d see that I was planning to use the Urban Decay Naked on the Run palette for a brown smokey eye, something I still haven’t done with the palette, strangely enough. (I’ve mostly been doing light pretty natural shades).

Unfortunately I woke up too late, and had to rush for a project meeting. This is a six minute look (yes I timed it) that I pulled together with still-neglected products. These include: MAC Photogravure Eye Kohl, MAC Mulch, L’Oreal True Rose blush, and my precious Bobbi Brown Raspberry Pot Rogue.

This is one of the easiest smokey eyes to do; line your eyes with a pencil liner, then smudge that with an eyeshadow.  Also I had no time for concealer, and gosh, what a difference it makes in covering up redness in the face.

Story time! Gather around and let me tell you about these products.  

MAC Photogravure is a brown kohl liner I’d bought from the Divine Desire Quite Coral kit. I’m not a fan of how it smudges on my under eye area though. =/ It’s easy to smudge out to get a smokey eye.

MAC Mulch was a staple product used in my high school’s drama makeup kit, so it made sense to purchase it when I was assembling my own makeup.

I’d received the L’Oreal Baby True Rose Blush along with this L’Oreal kit my mom’s friend who worked at the airport had given me. It’s not a blush I reach for often, because of my preference for warmer blushes. This is such a pale pink cool toned thing, not my thing at all. So I’m always surprised when this looks really natural on my skin. It’s a good blush if you’re very fair, and want something to just add a little bit of color after foundation.

The Bobbi Brown Raspberry Pot Rogue was the first cream blush I’d bought. I saw amazing reviews for it on makeup alley and knew I wanted to own it. Though it’s a really scary red in the pot, it blends out beautifully, and always gives me a lovely dewy flush. I think I had just watched Labyrinth and wanted Sarah’s blushing cheeks so badly. I realized that powder blushes just couldn’t replicate that glow, and knew I had to get a cream, and then ended up picking this shade. I bet warmer and darker skin tones would find this awesome to use too.

Makeup Used

Eyes
1) MAC Photogravure TechnaKohl Liner (matte chocolate brown kohl, upper lash line and outer third of lower lash line)
2) MAC Mulch (red-toned brown, smudged into lid with the kohl)
3) Urban Decay Perversion mascara (upper lashes)

Face
1) Laneige 6-in-1 BB Cushion
2) L’Oréal True Match Super Blendable Blush in True Rose (pale pink, dusted on cheeks)
3) Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Mood Light (pale pink face powder, dusted all over face)
4) Guerlain UV Shield (translucent powder, dusted all over face)

Lips
1) Bobbi Brown Pot Rogue for Lips and Cheeks in Raspberry (deep raspberry red)

DSC01167 copy

What kind of makeup do you do when you’re in a hurry? Share in the comments!

– – –

Follow me!

Facebook
Instagram
YouTube

This entry was posted in Looks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Neglected Series Part 4: Brown Smokey Eye

  1. Juvy says:

    I love this series! It reminds me to use my old items too and stop buying new ones. I am dying to try the Bobbi Brown Pot Rouge for the longest time, but keep holding back. I still have my tarte cheek stains and I mostly use powder blushes so I think I won’t get it anytime soon! You’re very fast in applying your makeup! I can’t do a decent face in 6 mins! Might just have an eyebrow and lipstick. Hehe

    • natziwang says:

      It’s really easy to apply with the BB Cushion! Also I like to think it is the theatre training I received haha. You have to move fast doing makeup for a huge cast.

      Ahhh what tarte Cheek Stains do you have? I wish I could just purchase a mini version of them so I can try more shades without investing in something so large (it feels like there’s a lot of product in each one).

Leave a Reply

