The Neglected Series Part 6: Golden Glow

| Part 1 | Part 2 | Part 3 | Part 4 | Part 5 |

‘The Neglected Series’  is where I will pull out rarely-used makeup from the dusty corners of my collection. It’s partly an exercise and challenge for my creativity, since I realise I haven’t been too creative with my colour palette lately and keep falling on the same old products. Digging through my stash is also a reminder for me to not buy new makeup since I already have plenty of things to play with. (Yes, this is what I’m trying to convince myself with.)

DSC01242 DSC01238  DSC01240

I actually wonder how many more parts this series is going to spawn. I haven’t even really started digging into half of my stash. D= I guess this is as good a reason as any to not purchase new products. Even with today’s simple look I managed to use three different products: NYX Cashmere, Benefit Coralista and MAC Mehr. 

I was going to use the Urban Decay Naked 3 palette for today’s neglected product. Did that, felt like I just didn’t want to wear eyeshadow for today, wiped it off, and ended up using my one and only NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil. I got hold of it with the NYX Parallel Worlds kit. It’s a very lovely light gold that can act as a base, or as a subtle highlight.

Benefit Coralista is one of the many Benefit products I have a love-hate relationship with. It’s very pretty and smells lovely but I have to really buff it in to see any colour, and probably can only work as a highlighter for medium shades and darker shades. It’s lovely for a light flush of colour though.

I fell in love with MAC Mehr when I first saw the review on Temptalia. It’s such a beautiful beautiful shade, and I rushed to MAC counters but it’s not stocked in Singapore. D= I bought it when I was in the US two years back. It’s a shade I pull out when I want a kind of “I am wearing lipstick but not obviously” look. It is such a beautiful colour I can’t believe I don’t wear it more often. Also I love this formula; it’s a creamy not-drying matte that doesn’t tug at your lips as you apply.

Not a neglected product (because I only own three mascaras) but lately I’ve gotten into the habit of layering mascaras, either my Tarte or Urban Decay one for length and then I finish it off with Benefit’s They’re Real for volume. It gets me very lovely lashes. Also today I applied my highlighter before applying my foundation to get that lovely beautiful natural highlight.

Makeup Used:

Eyes
1) NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil in Cashmere (satiny cool gold, all over the eye)
2) Tarte Lights, Camera, Lashes mascara (upper and lower lashes, for lengthening)
3) Benefit They’re Real mascara (upper lashes, for extra volume)

Face
1)  Benefit High Beam (liquid highlighter, applied on tops of cheek bones)
2) Happy Skin ZZ Cream Foundation (all over face)
3) Benefit Coralista (coral with golden sheen on apples of cheeks)

Lips
1) MAC Mehr

– – –

Follow me!

Facebook
Instagram
YouTube

This entry was posted in Looks and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

