Black Lips

Woohoo. So I finally have a pure matte black lipstick: Lime Crime’s Black Velvet Velvetine.

I’ve been a little obsessed with black lips lately. It’s always thought to be a Goth thing, but tehre’s been lots of pictures on Instagram and Pintrest that shows how black lipstick needn’t look Goth, it can look really really chic. It’s usually paired with barely-there eye makeup and strong brows, and a blush so you don’t look like a corpse.

 7dc6df8d93dc6560efd60e5ba01c277a a4a0695573fcc916c590f4e1d286c55b

Unfortunately this kinda failed for me. I can’t decide if it’s because I’m so pale, because I have dark  hair, or if it’s because my lips are so full that it still ends up looking really gothic. I had to use eyeliner, because my eyes looked super naked otherwise. Also black lips are horrendously difficult to do, I spend forever trying to get a precise lip line but am still not satisfied with the result.

I am extremely impressed with the Velvetine formula though. While it was super difficult to get on, this stuff wore like a champ. Had pasta for lunch, and I didn’t need to touch it up until after dinner (which was about eight hours after initial application). Seriously amazing formula (it didn’t dry up my lips most long wearing lip products do) and the finish is beautiful too.

DSC02778 copy DSC02784 copy DSC02786 copy

Makeup Used

Face
1) Happy Skin ZZ Cream Foundation
2) Benefit High Beam
3) Ellana Mineral Cosmetics Illusion Cream Lip and Cheek Color

Eyes
1) MAC Blacktrack Fluidline
2) Tarte Lights, Camera, Lashes Mascara

Brows
1) MAC Dipdown Fluidline

Lips
1) Lime Crime Matte Velvetine in Black Velvet

– – –

Follow me!

Facebook
Instagram
YouTube

This entry was posted in Looks and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Black Lips

  1. atkokosplace says:

    I think you could pull it off. I especially liked how you wore the black lacy necklace with it. The lip color sounds amazing. I wouldn’t wear black because I know I couldn’t do it; plus my age and all, I don’t think it would look right, however I’d be interested in trying other lip colors from that brand. Great review. Rock the black Girl! 🙂

  2. Gianna W says:

    Have you tried any other lime crime velvetines? I hear the color salem is amazing!

    https://giannanwhite.wordpress.com

  3. prettyloved says:

    That looks really pretty 😀 Reminds me of the Addams Family but I love it. I think you suit it

  4. BlackLaceandGlitter says:

    I love black lips! So chic…

  5. Iman Agha says:

    It doesn’t look bad at all! Maybe do a deeper blush? (just my opinion) And I love your black necklace!
    P.S: if you have a moment please do check out my beauty blog and follow me back. I would appreciate it so much. Thanks. 😊

  6. 1reddiva83 says:

    Oh My god, I am going to do have to do a post now because I bought MUFE lipstick in black (shh , dont tell anyone). It is a satin finish. I am also thinking of Jefree star..Maybe you need a more matte foundation to pull it off.

  7. Juvy says:

    I can’t pull this off! You looked great. I think you can start with a lined lips, and then just cover it with the Limecrime. Btw, did you know that a lot of people don’t support Limecrime now? I still love the Velvetines and will continue to use them. 🙂

    • natziwang says:

      Thank you so much. ❤ Yeah, I've heard about the scandals surrounding Lime Crime. =/ I have very mixed feelings about purchasing from this brand. The Venus palette though, is just beautiful.

  8. RS says:

    You look lovely in black lipstick! I do get what you mean about the hair contrast thing though – when i went blonde i found it soo much easier to wear black lipstick (and dark purple too). I do like it with darker hair colours too, i guess it’s also kind of a mental thing? But anyway you rocking this look ❤❤

    • natziwang says:

      Probably a bit of a mental thing, yeah! But I guess it’s just about balancing colours around the face and body, maybe if I’d worn white and had flower accessories it wouldn’t be so emo/goth looking. Thank you so much! ❤

Leave a Reply

