#20daylipstickchallenge Day 1

This series was inspired by the lovelies Juvy from plump cheeks, Rae from Scatterbraintures and Elaine from Flabs Rule. They started the new year with the #20daylipstickchallenge. I need to get out of my lipstick rut (been repeating pretty much the same lipsticks) and aim to be blogging more, so I thought I’d hope on the bandwagon (Hope Juvy, Rae, and Elaine don’t mind!) I’ll be doing one lipstick every day I can (or at least on all the days I wear makeup). 

Day 1 All Time Favourite: MAC TAUPE
2016-01-11 01.49.48 1.jpg
MAC Taupe is a lipstick I consistently go back to, which is weird, given that I rarely wear the same lipstick for two days in a row. I suppose if you pointed a gun to my head and told me that I had to pick a favourite lipstick, this would be it. I don’t usually like MLBB shades (my lips but better, for the uninitiated) much, they’re just so boring. Taupe is, I suppose my equivalent of an MLBB, used whenever I want something that doesn’t draw too much attention, but is still interesting enough to look at. It’s the newer matte formula from MAC, which means it’s fairly long wearing but doesn’t suck the moisture out of your lips the way MAC’s retro matte formuals like Ruby Woo does.

 

 Funny story about this lipstick; I actually went into MAC looking for Velvet Teddy the day I bought this. Velvet Teddy was out of stock though, and I didn’t think Whirl, which is the other brown that’s really hot right now, looked very flattering. I told the MAC makeup artist that I wanted a brown (‘like Kylie Jenner 90s type lip’ was my exact words) and he recommended Taupe, which I promptly proceeded to fall in love with. It is a lighter brown that automatically brightens up my face, and its reddish tones make it a very wearable brown.

 

 Today I paired it with a muted smoky reddish brown eye. It’s really a very toned down look of yesterday’s photoshoot.

 

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO

Makeup Used
Base: Laneige BB Cushion in #21
Brows: MAC Dipdown Fluidline
Eyes: Urban Decay Original Primer Potion, Lime Crime Divine, Lime Crime Muse, Laura Mercier Truffle, Lime Crime Aura, MAC Photogravure Technakohl, MAC Extended Play Gigablack Zoom Lash
Cheeks: Maybelline Dream Bouncy Blush in Peach Satin
Lips: MAC Taupe Lipstick
Finishing Powder: Guerlain UV Shield

– – –

Follow me!

Facebook
Instagram
YouTube

This entry was posted in Challenge, Looks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to #20daylipstickchallenge Day 1

  1. Bloomify says:

    It’s such a nice colour!
    https://bloomify.wordpress.com/

  2. Rae says:

    On me, this looks like a very rusty brown 😦 I love how it looks on you. Anyway, I hope you get to try Velvet Teddy. That color looks pale on me, but on your skin tone, I believe it would look perfect.

Leave a Reply

