#20daylipstickchallenge Day 2

This series was inspired by the lovelies Juvy from plump cheeks, Rae from Scatterbraintures and Elaine from Flabs Rule. They started the new year with the #20daylipstickchallenge. I need to get out of my lipstick rut (been repeating pretty much the same lipsticks) and aim to be blogging more, so I thought I’d hope on the bandwagon (Hope Juvy, Rae, and Elaine don’t mind!) I’ll be doing one lipstick every day I can (or at least on all the days I wear makeup). 

2016-01-12 03.42.15 1.jpg

MAC Odyssey was actually my first lipstick. My mom bought it for me for prom when I was 16 (this was slightly more than six years ago D=). Well, I picked it out, hoping for a deep vampy lipstick. It was actually a disaster. Odyssey was a deep wine color, definitely beautiful on darker skin tones, but it wasn’t dark enough to qualify as vampy, not light enough to be flattering on me.

1918391_105154692829121_2473369_n.jpg

I cannot believe I paid $50 to get that makeup done on me. D= Very not worth, and I think it was a terrible job. In most other photographs my cheeks look orange. 

I don’t own it anymore, thank goodness. MAC ‘O’ is probably the closest color I have to it, but it’s in the Frost line and has a bit of a red and gold sheen to it, so it’s significantly more flattering on me than Odyssey was. It’s definitely a color for evening. Today I wore it with quite minimal makeup to make it a little more wearable for day. The bronzy blush is meant to complement the gold tone to the lipstick.

It’s also one of those lipsticks which look absolutely beautiful in the tube, because of the bronze sheen to it. My camera can’t quite capture the color so check it out the next time you’re in a MAC store!

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO

Don’t ask me what those black lines are. I really really don’t know myself. D=

Makeup used
Base: Laneige BB Cushion, Laura Mercier Smooth Finish Foundation Powder
Brows: L’Oreal Brow Artist Plumper
Eyes: Urban Decay Perversion 24/7 Liner, MAC Extended Play Gigablack mascara
Cheeks: Ellana Minerals Diva Cream Lip and Cheek
Lips: MAC ‘O’ Lipstick

– – –

Follow me!

Facebook
Instagram
YouTube

This entry was posted in Challenge, Looks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to #20daylipstickchallenge Day 2

  1. Juvy says:

    I am a noob with mac lipsticks since I became interested only about 3 yrs ago. The MAC Odyssey looks good to me, though but you’re right, it might look better for medium to dark skin tones. I think it will suit me since I have a medium skin tone or what we call morena here in the Philippines.

    I also have makeup disasters in the past. I looked 20 years older on my Senior prom. Gah! Someone also did my makeup, and it is horrible. LOL!

  2. Rae says:

    Yay! Thanks for doing this, too!

    I know it’s probably genes, but how do you get your lips so plump! Best lips for lip swatches.

    • natziwang says:

      It’s a genes thing haha. XD Lucked out on that department. The writer for Temptalia also has a lip freckle which she uses to gauge the opacity of lipsticks, which makes her perfect as a beauty blogger. XD

Leave a Reply

