#20daylipstickchallenge: Day 5

This series was inspired by the lovelies Juvy from plump cheeks, Rae from Scatterbraintures and Elaine from Flabs Rule. They started the new year with the #20daylipstickchallenge. I need to get out of my lipstick rut (been repeating pretty much the same lipsticks) and aim to be blogging more, so I thought I’d hop on the bandwagon (Hope Juvy, Rae, and Elaine don’t mind!) I’ll be doing one lipstick every day I can (or at least on all the days I wear makeup). 

2016-01-15 07.02.23 1.jpg

Day 5’s theme is ‘Favourite Purple Lipstick’. This one was so easy, Urban Decay Blackmail Matte Revolution Lipstick, without a doubt.

I spent so long looking for the perfect vampy purple lipstick. Either I wouldn’t like the dry texture, or I wouldn’t like the shade because it wasn’t dark enough, or it wouldn’t be matte enough. Then one day I passed by the new Urban Decay outlet at Bugis Junction, and saw the sales woman wearing the most gorgeous dark purple lipstick. I didn’t buy it there and then (but trust me, it was close) and then caved when they have Black Friday sales last December. Blackmail’s been frequently worn since, and I don’t expect it to be going anywhere. It’s not only the perfect shade of purple, it’s long wearing, doesn’t fade too unevenly, lasts forever, and glides on the lips like a dream. I don’t think it’s a true matte, but it’s pretty easy to blot out and powder down. Oh and when I layer on top of a bit of Vaseline/lip balm, it’s a really pretty sheer purple.

2016-01-15 07.02.21 1.jpg
Smeared my lipstick slightly. Oops. 
2016-01-15 07.02.22 1.jpg
Today I chose to pair it with a really light eye; I wanted the look to still be edgy, but without venturing into the Goth territory. I think I succeeded, though I kinda wish I went with a cooler toned, pink blush. What do you think?
2016-01-15 07.02.19 1.jpg
Makeup Used
Brows: MAC Dipdown Fluidline
Base: Urban Decay Naked Skin Weightless Complete Coverage Concealer, Laura Mercier Smooth Finish Foundation Powder
Eyes: Urban Decay Original Primer Potion, Urban Decay Revolt, Benefit Rollerlash Mascara
Cheeks: MAC Warm Soul, Benefit Hoola, theBalm Mary-Lou Manizer
Lips: Urban Decay Blackmail Matte Revolution
Finishing Powder: Hourglass Mood Light Ambient Lighting Powder

– – –

Follow me!

Facebook
Instagram
YouTube

This entry was posted in Challenge, Looks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to #20daylipstickchallenge: Day 5

  1. Lauren says:

    Lovely makeup look! That lipstick is so nice!

  2. Juvy says:

    That purple shade is gorgeous!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

