#20daylipstickchallenge Day 8 (and a photoshoot)

This series was inspired by the lovelies Juvy from Plump Cheeks, Rae from Scatterbraintures and Elaine from Flabs Rule. They started the new year with the #20daylipstickchallenge. I need to get out of my lipstick rut (been repeating pretty much the same lipsticks) and aim to be blogging more, so I thought I’d hop on the bandwagon (Hope Juvy, Rae, and Elaine don’t mind!) I’ll be doing one lipstick every day I can (or at least on all the days I wear makeup). 

2016-01-19 01.04.10 1.jpg

Day 8 A color you own but wouldn’t wear out in public: Lime Crime Black Velvet

I’ve had Lime Crime Black Velvet for quite a while now (I think I received it in May last year?) and have only worn it out in public twice. The last time was for my photoshoot with Likhitha, and I’d covered it up with a gold pigment. But the first time I wore Black Velvet in its full dark glory was not a very pleasant experience.

People just don’t wear makeup much in Singapore, let alone a fully pigmented matte black lipstick (which looks incredibly stark against my skin) and the comments I got were disheartening, to say the least. Usually I would say, screw the haters, do what you like, you know. But the comments came hard and fast and I just felt incredibly self conscious that day. I got “omg what the fuck happened”, along with “did you just eat squid ink pasta”. And the next day when I turned up at the event with a red lipstick I got “see you look so much better now”. Which is disheartening to say the least. And I was, for obvious reasons, vaguely traumatised from wearing it out in public as a result.

But today this changes! I actually wore the black lip out! AND I did a photoshoot  with it.(no fancy baroque type gothic shoot, a simple OOTD one) 

2016-01-19 05.07.34 1.jpg2016-01-19 01.04.03 1.jpg

It’d be so easy to wear the black lipstick with a gothy edgy kind of look, but I wanted to make it everyday wearable. Like yesterday’s look I wanted something sweet and fresh still. This of course means lots of blush (I kept it natural looking by using a light color), a light contour, and just a dab of highlighter. Wore this with what I term a hobo chic outfit: long dress, oversized vest and combat boots.

Also I think I got my braids better today! I will move on to another hairstyle once I am satisfied that I’ve got this right, I promise.

Makeup Used
Base: Bobbi Brown Skin Foundation Stick in #2.5
Brows: MAC Dipdown Fluidline
Eyes: MAC Groundwork Paint Pot, MAC Bronze, MAC Dazzlelight, MAC Photogravure Technakohl, MAC Extended Play Gigablack Zoom Express Lash mascara
Cheeks: Bobbi Brown Skin Foundation Stick in #5, MAC Dainty, theBalm Mary-Lou Manizer
Lips: Lime Crime Black Velvet Velvetine
Finishing Powder: Guerlain UV Shield

The photographs below were taken by Sweetz Memoirs Photography, quick edits edits by myself. More photos will be up later!

Dress from VainGloriousYou
Vest from YoungHungryFree
Shoes from Madeena

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

– – –

Follow me!

Facebook
Instagram
YouTube

This entry was posted in Challenge, Looks, OOTD, Photoshoots and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to #20daylipstickchallenge Day 8 (and a photoshoot)

  1. Juvy says:

    You look so lovely!!! I would definitely get the same HARSH comments here in the Philippines. I love other countries where you can just do what you want, and be called “cool” or “stylish”! You definitely rocked that lipstick this time!!!

    • natziwang says:

      I was over in the Philippines lately, and noticed that the crazy hair dye trend hasn’t really afflicted you guys (I got so many looks for my red). And that women didn’t wear all that much makeup either. =X Oh well this is why we have the Internet to support each other.

  2. Pingback: Black Velvet | Natzi's Stash

Leave a Reply

