Review: Sabbatical Beauty

Hello! It’s been a really long time since my last post. Today I want to finally get around to writing on Sabbatical Beauty, a skincare brand I’ve been in love with for the last six months. This is a long long long overdue post in which I will attempt to use as many adjectives as possible to describe my many feelings for Sabbatical Beauty. the tl;dr version of it is that while expensive, I’ve found that I’ve loved most things I’ve tried from the brand.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

First haul: Revive set, Shine Like A Diamond set, and a full-sized Marine serum

Does it work?
The short answer is: yes.

So if you’ve been reading my Skincare series , you know that I struggle with acne. My skin was pretty awful in December when I ordered the products, probably because I was flying back and forth China and Singapore for a while, and the constant transitions between the cold dry air and humid weather probably freaked my skin out. I was trying to balance moisturizing my skin with my Innisfree tea tree and tea tree seed serums, masks for the face, my Laneige sleeping pack while treating the acne with products and ingredients that do dry out your skin, like Differin – and over the counter retinol – and my salicylic acid loaded (2%) Neutrogena Oil Free Facial Wash. In January, it started to calm down a little, but I always have loads of tiny little blemishes all over the skin, and the occasional hormonal acne rears its ugly unwanted head during the time of the month. That was the state of my skin when I made my first purchase.
So far, I’ve tried the Revive sampler set, and from there fell in love with the idea of using facial oils on my skin. The Winter is Coming oil balm dealt with all the dry patches I usually get from using Differin. It smells lovely, and is light enough to even be used in humid Singapore, even though it was developed for a colder winter climate.

Screen Shot 2016-06-21 at 3.31.40 PM.png

Second haul: Presents for mother, with the full-sized Marine for myself

I’ve been using the kelp based Marine serum regularly for the last six months. It’s definitely calmed my acne down, and apart from one milk-related breakout, I don’t really get terrible cystic acne that I usually get just before my period anymore.
I’ve also used the Dorian Gray Anti Aging Serum, when I start getting some acne flareups. I bought it for my mother as a Mother’s Day present. It’s a very gentle retinol with Vitamin C, and I infinitely prefer this to the over the counter one I usually use (Differin) as it doesn’t leave any dry patches, but is just as, if not more, effective. My mother’s skin also looks so much better after using it! Her pores are much finer now, and she looks ten years younger as a result. She’s also been using the Glow pressed serum as well, to reduce age spots on her face, and they’ve definitely lightened some!

Screen Shot 2016-06-21 at 3.39.30 PM.png

This is a no makeup selfie taken in May. While I’ve always been alright with going around without makeup, I feel more confident than ever these days. 

You can get free consultations before you make your purchase so you get the skincare that’s best for your skin type. I feel like I’ve learnt a lot about skincare from the brand, as well as the Facebook community that has grown around itFacebook community that has grown around it (650 members and growing!). I’ve read up enough on skincare to know what to pick up for whichever problems (witch hazel for acne, aloe for hydration, rose water for calming the skin, etc) but I learnt so much looking at the various ingredients used in the products below! For instance, I’ve been using camellia oil for my hair, but I didn’t know it was safe for the skin, and has anti-inflammatory properties.

And if the prices scare you (they scare me a little too), Sabbatical Beauty has an amazing Pay It Forward program, where you can be a beneficiary of other users donating monies. I was able to afford the second haul for my mom’s birthday that way!

So yep, amazing brand with great ethics and beliefs and products. Highly, highly recommended.

– – –

Follow me!

Facebook
Instagram
YouTube

This entry was posted in Reviews, Skincare and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

